Mexican Sour Cream Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
'Liked, didn't love; but I may make again - adding additional ingredients like beans or tomatoes. This is on the bland side like most mexican food is. I added 1/2t cumin, subbed 1t dried cilantro for fresh. 'Only had 3/4c sour cream & 1/2c cheddar. The dryness problem is only in the liquid amount used to cook the rice. 16oz is needed for 1c rice. Simple as that. I only cooked this stovetop, just stirring. 'Glad I tried it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Not sure why, but it was not to our liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Excellent -- loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Sortino Camden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carawilcox
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I added black beans to make it a main dish meal. I also sprinkled some ground cumin in it to add a southwest flavor. So, SO yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carawilcox
Home Town: Mount Hermon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Used spinach instead of cilantro and no peppers. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Other than doubling this for a potluck, I also used a Mexican blend shredded cheese, instead of just Monterey Jack. It was AWESOME! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
tried this recipe twice. second time altered recipe by upping sour cream by 1/2 cup, adding another can of chilies and a teaspoon of emeril's seasoning. i am not a fan of cilantro so i crushed some coriander and a bit of celery seed and added that to the cooking rice. also i think 30 min. baking is a bit too long. 25 min. with a couple of minutes under the broiler to brown the cheese is plenty. got rave reviews from family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Think I will add some browned ground beef and it will be a meal in itself..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
To make it spicier add a package of dry taco seasoning to the rice mixture when cooking. You will have an all around tastier more flavor filled side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I LOVE this recipe!! I made a few minor changes based on other reviews. I add a can of diced tomatoes, double the amount of sour cream, use cheddar cheese, and add a chopped up rotisserie chicken to make it a complete meal. I usually don't like eating leftovers, but will eat this over and over again until it's gone. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weslie Green

Displaying results 11-20 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States