Mexican Sour Cream Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
My husband was very skeptical of this and wrinkled up his nose at it as I was mixing it all together. Then he tasted it and a big smile just spread across his face. It was great and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This was really good. My husband loves cilantro so he really liked the recipe. 1 cup of sour cream and cheese is plenty. I added extra cheese and it was a little much. Follow exactly as written and it will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This was very good and creamy, simple to make. It had a nice mild spicy flavor. I added about 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. pepper. This would really be good with some type of southwestern grilled chicken. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Very good! Left out the corn and only used half the cilantro plus added extra sour cream and cheese and this was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
pretty good..will make again but will add diced jalapenos because we like a kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was absolutley amazing!! Was very filling and went a long way with my big family.. The chilis and cilantro are what makes this recipe... This one gets saved and passed on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShepR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Very tasty! Have made this recipe twice now. Second time I doubled it. It came out delicious! I did add extra sour cream and cheese to make it really creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I made this recipe for a tex-mex dinner party. I left out the chile peppers b/c my mother can't take the heat and cooked the rice according to package directions using vegetable stock. It was a HUGE hit and everyone wished I'd made a bigger batch. Next time, I will adjust the recipe for a larger casserole dish. Hubby suggested making a meal out of it by adding black beans and vegan chicken strips. We'll make it spicy next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edensmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
With some changes it was great. Here is what I did: Diced 1/2 onion, 1 bell pepper, combined with one can blk beans and 2c frozen corn, and heated in skillet with oil, garlic and 1T cumin, 1T cayenne, 2T paprika. I mixed the heated combo with rice cooked in chicken broth, 2 sm cans green chilis, tex mex cheese, 1 sm container reduced fat sour cream, and 3 lrg cans of chicken. Topped with a bit of the cheese, baked at 350 for 30 minutes and garnished with green onion. Served with salsa and quacamole -- everyone loved adding to the flavors to make it their own. Made this with the Margarita cake (though I made changes there too). Great Tex Mex nite with stuff I usually already have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was really good. I combined it with Green Chili and Cheese Chicken on this site. Used fat-free sour cream and pepper jack cheese. Then I placed the chicken breasts on top, topped with more green chilies and more pepper jack cheese. Yummy! Next time I might use black beans instead of corn and add some onion and green pepper. Will definitely make again. Update: Just made this again with about 1/2 cup diced onion, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper and black beans instead of corn. Omitted fresh cilanto because husband doesn't like it. Put Green Chili and Cheese Chicken on top. This is probably the best Mexican casserole I've ever made or eaten! Absolutely wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States