Mexican Sour Cream Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was ok...a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This makes a GREAT side to your Mexican meal! I left out the cilantro b/c I don't like it, and left out the corn. It was still wonderful! The second time I mad it I didn't have green chiles, so I used 1/2 cup of salsa. It was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I made this for a crowd. It doubles easily and it got rave reviews. I used the fiesta corn by Del Monte.I also added garlic powder. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by isaiah54mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Okmulgee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Terrific side dish to mexican dishes. This went perfectly with our burritos. Unfortunately, I was out of cilantro when I made this, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Very good. :-) Left out the chile peppers since I don't like them, but sprinkled in some cayenne to give it a kick back. And I used 1/3 the amount of dry cilantro. (Unlike most people, I usually prefer dry spices.) I didn't think it was dry, but I also didn't cook it 30 minutes - maybe more like 20 until it was heated through. It does, however, have a slight bit of "crispness" to it. I originally made this a long time ago and wrote a 4 on it, but couldn't remember it very well. So I re-made it recently and decided it was a 5. I remember that this was something I didn't think too much of the first couple of bites and then it kind of grew on me. Or as someone else said, how can you go wrong with sour cream? :-) (Actually, you can, but not usually.) Sitting here staring at the recipes, I'm thinking I should make it again tomorrow while I've got sour cream on hand... (it's making me hungry)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Good but just a little dry. I'll add more sour cream next time. I also added some black beans to mine and used brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This is a great recipe. I did use 2 c. sour cream, added black beans and doubled the green chiles. I also added cumin, chili powder and other herbs to boost it up. Next time I will use pepper jack and add roasted red peppers. Chicken would be fabulous too in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Added: taco seasoning, some garlic, extra sour cream (regular not reduced fat), salsa, finely chopped onion (small amount), bacon bits & chopped chicken to mix. Covered it with extra colby/monterey jack cheese. I don't think it was bland after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Family loved this -I thoght it was good. I added a few spices -cumin, cayenne, chili powder, onion, garlic and chipotle. Doubled the sour cream as suggested by others. With these changes it had a nice warm kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rainess Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Really yummy! My variation: I didnt have enough sour cream, so substitued cottage cheese mixed with heavy cream. I also added cumin. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States