Mexican Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was sooo good! I doubled the recipe and added some rotel tomatoes with green chiles, a can of green chiles, a can of black beans (instead of two cans of kidney beans), a clove of garlic, and a jalapeño. Delicious! I paired it with some tacos and homemade churros for dessert. It was a wonderfully colorful meal. I would recommend it to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is the best soup base ever. By simply changing the spices, the soup can go from Mexican to Italian to Thai. I have made it and added sausage for a Louisiana flair too. Make the base and store in freezer for quick dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This was a nice surprise! I was craving loaded baked potato soup, but stumbled randomly upon this recipe and decided in might be more in line with my new year's resolutions :) My only criticism is that it didn't have enough spice for my taste. To remedy this, I added a generous sprinkling of cayenne pepper and a little salt at the end. That did the trick. Easy to make and nice presentation too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was really nothing special. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayleR.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I added 1 can of black beans and 2 tbspn thai chili sauce yummy very good soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timothyray Dantin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westwego, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This soup is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I'm new to cooking and this was the first soup I've ever made by myself, so I just followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! I had a couple of sceptics in the room but they all shut up when they had a mouth full of this awsome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Thank you! My husband came home from work with a cold, and I needed a soup, quickly! I followed your recipe, except that I didn't have peppers or chiles on hand. I used canned chicken, kidney and garbanzo beans, and 1/2 cup of salsa. I had shredded mozzerella, so I put it on top with some sliced avocado, and tortilla chips on the side. It was perfect! My husband loved it, and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Made some changes but the recipe really helped me make a delicious chicken tortilla soup. I have been searching for such a recipe! Used 18 oz of southwest style grilled chicken strips, shredded. Used black beans instead of kidney, added a can of Rotel (use variety you like best) along with the stewed tomatoes, added 1/4 of fresh jalapeno, seeded and diced instead of canned green chile, added 15 oz can of corn instead of 1 cup, added 8 oz of Velveeta pepperjack cheese, used 3 cans of reduced sodium chicken broth, also added a bunch of fresh chopped cilantro while cooking. It was SO good. After it was ready, added a dollop of non-fat greek yogurt, more fresh cilantro, a spoonful of pico de gallo, about 1/3 avocado, cut into thin strips or diced, and tortilla strips, broken into large pieces-add as much as you like while eating soup. My husband and I loved this soup and wished we had doubled it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was very good! I added chic peas to mine and omited the green chile peppers (only because my toddler would be eating it). When it was cooking I was wondering how good it was really going to be. I served it with old cheddar cheese on top and it was fantastic! Also enjoyed dipping nacho chips into it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Chef John's Avgolemono Soup

Mediterranean chicken soup with rice and lemon juice.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States