Mexican Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
I made this recipe with tiger prawns and for the hot pepper sauce I used Valentina, which can be found in the Mexican section in most grocery stores in California. I forgot to buy red onions so I ended up using the yellow onions and it came out very good! I fried tortillas to serve with the shrimp cocktail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This was excellent. The horseradish was a nice change from the red ketchup mixture thats usually used. I added more hot sauce and left the onions kinda chunky. Also, I added the avacado right before serving so they wouldn't be mushy. Serves up nicely in a sundae glass with saltines and/or tostadas, and cut limes on the side. Definitly a keeper thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I have been making a similiar recipe for several years now..I add cucumber (2 lg peeled and chopped) and tomatoes (2-3 chopped).I also add a pinch of cayenne and don't take it too easy on the hot pepper sauce or salt. the avocados (2)I add before serving. Thanks sahoney for the horseradish addition! It was what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Very good, had to use V-8 instead of the clam sauce and omited the ketcup. Added Bavarian style horseradish and more hot pepper sauce. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
this is the first time i have ever made this and it came out perfect the only thing i changed was that i added chopped celery and it adds a nice balance to the mix. i will definatly make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
this shrimp cocktail was GREAT!!! thanks so much for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I actually didn't get to try this one for myself because it was gone before I could get a shrimp! Everone loved this dish. Many said it tasted like ceviche. I had to omit the cilantro because my market was out. Everything else stayed the same, except I included a sprinkling of cumin (I love cumin!). A great Superbowl dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This was outstanding! It was tasty cold, but I heated up the extra the next day and it was even more delicious as a soup. Will definitely make this again and again. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Just made it today, everyone is still raving about it. We were worried about the amount of horseradish, but it adds the perfect flavor. Thanks for the delightful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This recipe was great, even though I forgot to add the avocado. I also had to substitute V-8 for the clam juice cocktail since I didn't have any clam juice. I am planning to make this again for another party this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States