Mexican Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Wonderful! As someone else recommended I used Spicy V-8 with a bit of clam juice and lots of fresh diced cucumber. Tasted so fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I'm made this recipe many time, but I have modified it a bit. I add more ketchup (to thicken) and and use a Tomato and shrimp juice cocktail. I combine the cocktail juice, ketchup, horseradish, hot pepper sauce, onion and garlic ahead of time to let the flavors blend together. A few hours before serving, I add the remining ingredients along diced serano chilies and chopped cucumber. I top it off with chopped Avocado just before serving This makes a great hearty appertizer for a party. I serve mine a large bowl or trifle dish. Everytime I serve this dish, i always get asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
OMG! this deserves 100 stars LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
this is the closest to my grandmother's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Made this recipe for a neighborhood holiday party and it disappeared - luckily I saved some as the whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
That's it! This is what I have been looking for! This is one of my favorite things to eat when I can find it. I am so glad to now be able to make it at home. I used the Cholula hot sauce and regular V-8 because I had it at home already. Will try the tomato and clam juice next time. I think the Chili sauce that someone mentioned would make it a little sweeter, which I wouldnt mind so much. I have had it that way before. Thank you for posting your recipe. Im a happy girl now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Made this for a neighborhood cookout. To keep it cold serve it in a double bowl. The smaller bowl with the shrimp setting on a bed of ice in the larger bowl. This kept it cold and cold is key for this dish. Other things; don't skimp or substitute the fresh ingredients. Also give it time to marinate before you serve it. 2-3 hours in the frig is not a suggestion, but an ingredient. Since I was serving to a crowd I cut back on the heat a little and the horseradish. Sneak up on the heat with fresh peppers. Don't dump them in all at once. Horseradish and fresh peppers are ingredients that can vary in strength so adjust them as needed. It went fast and there were multiple requests for the recipe. This is great at a cookout on a hot day. Be sure to have bowls and spoons set out and a ladle in the pot so people know that it is a soup and not a marinade for the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Just made this for Cinco de Mayo awsome recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Perfect! I've been looking for a long time for this recipe. Others have been too bland, too ketchuppy (not a real word I know ;) ) or too wattery. But this one got it right. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
If you use frozen shrimp, don't let it sit overnight, the texture gets weird. Added chopped tomato, seedless cucumber and celery. Used sriracha (rooster) sauce instead of horseradish and V8+clamato. SOOOO GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States