Mexican Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I have made this a number of times as written and it is very good. This last time I made it I substituted cocktail sauce for the ketchup and skipped the hot pepper sauce. It was even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
We had mexican food for my son's birthday (his most favorite!) and I decided to make this for a crowd. I made about 1 3/4-2 lbs. of shrimp and I had a good amount left over. I added a bit more lime juice and used all V8 b/c my food store did not have clamato and I was pressed for time. I thought that the cilantro really made it tasty. I also liked the "kick" of the horseradish. A great little twist on an old time classic. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was awesome. I added 1 more teaspoon of garlic, and a lot more horseradish for more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merri Embry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
As written, this recipe is good. I personally have a problem usually with canned juices and all the unnatural ingredients that go into them. Also preparing horseradish can produce such different degrees of "heat" that I can't see how this can be the same each time without specifying which prepared horseradish. I made it exactly as written twice - the second time to be certain I hadn't mucked up the first time. I then made it a few more times trying different combinations and not using canned or prepared stuff like ketchup. It was a bit better to MY taste with natural products but I never managed to get a "Wow" taste. Maybe when I have a few more hours to experiment, I will try this again, but so far my 3 hours of trials have not substantially improved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canterbury, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
i love this recipe traditional cocktail sauce is too thick and very sweet, tastes like canned tomato sauce. But this is magnificent. I used spicy v8 juice and added fresh jalapenos and added cucumbers..perfect for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I have made this many, many times and it is delicious. And it makes a generous amount so I usually half it. The recipe is great as-is, but sometimes I add in diced tomatoes, black beans or corn. Very refreshing in the summertime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I also used spicy V8 instead of tomato and clam juice. But mmm mmmm mmmm.....so easy and yet so good! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Added 2 diced seeded tomatoes and 1 cucumber. Also took the advice of others and added the avocado before serving. I also added more cilantro because I really like it. This was so good-perfect on a hot and humid day-it was so nice to toss it all together and never have to turn on the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe. I add a diced cucumber, a couple of stalks of celery and some extra hot sauce. I also cook my shrimp in mexican beer the night before, drain and chill in the fridge overnight. Great for a HOT summer night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
It was delicious!! will be saved in my recipe box. i just added cucumbers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Chef John's Grilled Garlic and Herb Shrimp

Delicious, fresh garden herb marinated and grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States