Mexican Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This is a FABULOUS hot weather meal! I halved the recipe. Used spicy V8 juice and used more than was called for. I used one pound of shrimp - added more cilantro, garlic onion, lime juice and hot pepper sauce than called for. I also added finely chopped peeled cucumbers which really add to the refreshing texture of this dish. I put in one avocado when I made it (and let it sit overnight) and then added another one when serving. Served it with a lime wedge, cilantro sprig and tortilla chips and fresh cantaloupe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love my Doxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very easy and yummy! I used 1 cup V8 and 1/4 clam juice because I didn't have Clamato. (My husband also bought minced clams because he wasn't sure what to get. I wonder what I'll do with those.) Anyway, I'm packing this for lunches. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzTJazz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
i am from san antonio tx and we do have some good cocktails here and i make this often the kids love it they have grown taste.... i just wanted to say wonderful job recreating....have a good one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Just made this for a Memorial Day weekend party and this was the hit of the party.. I had read many of the reviews and followed some of the recommendations for minor changes. I doubled the avocado, added a finely minced, seeded, hot house cucumber, and maybe a tad more lime juice than in the original. But really, the heart of this recipe is BOMB! The sauce ingredients are spot on. We will make this again and again, Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I first had mexican shrimp cocktail on vacation in South Padre Island(Hilton Inn has the best) and fell in love with this dish. Tried this recipe and loved it even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very very good...will kick up the heat a little...won't go into my other tweaks...it's your recipe and the shrimp lovers at dinner enjoyed it...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xmyheart
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Magnificent! The flavors and taste of this exquisite Mexican dish will take your breath away! I grew up eating Mexican food all my life and my mother would make this a few times a year. It was a delicacy. This here recipe is almost an exact replica of my mom's with a few minor adjustments. I left out the horseradish and hot sauce, it is flavorful enough without these additions. Also, since we are a small family, I only used 1 lb. of shrimp and 1 cup of Clamato juice. Kept everything else the same although I was very genourous with the cilantro because we love that stuff! Refridgerated for about 4 hours and frosted some pretty glasses in the freezer for a few hours. Served it up with saltines and sliced limes. It was gone in no time at all! Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xmyheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Good. I would have preferred it spicier. It may have been the horseradish I used, but the sauce turned out a weird pink color that didn't look very appetizing. Didn't add the avocado until ready to serve. Also, I used medium shrimp. If I make again, I'll use the larger shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I only had 1 hour to let this recipe sit, yet the partygoers were volunteering rave reviews and requesting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outjet
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Can't go wrong--Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GNFSHN4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Polo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Chef John's Grilled Garlic and Herb Shrimp

Delicious, fresh garden herb marinated and grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States