Mexican Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
very good but if you are making for a large crowd skip the cilantro. some people (OK, ME) can't stand the stuff... if you want a laugh, google: "I hate cilantro"..... it really does taste like soap! think 10% of the population.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! I also add some chopped cucumber. If everything is chopped well enough it also makes an excellent summertime chilled soup. Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This is a FABULOUS hot weather meal! I halved the recipe. Used spicy V8 juice and used more than was called for. I used one pound of shrimp - added more cilantro, garlic onion, lime juice and hot pepper sauce than called for. I also added finely chopped peeled cucumbers which really add to the refreshing texture of this dish. I put in one avocado when I made it (and let it sit overnight) and then added another one when serving. Served it with a lime wedge, cilantro sprig and tortilla chips and fresh cantaloupe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love my Doxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very easy and yummy! I used 1 cup V8 and 1/4 clam juice because I didn't have Clamato. (My husband also bought minced clams because he wasn't sure what to get. I wonder what I'll do with those.) Anyway, I'm packing this for lunches. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzTJazz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
i am from san antonio tx and we do have some good cocktails here and i make this often the kids love it they have grown taste.... i just wanted to say wonderful job recreating....have a good one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Just made this for a Memorial Day weekend party and this was the hit of the party.. I had read many of the reviews and followed some of the recommendations for minor changes. I doubled the avocado, added a finely minced, seeded, hot house cucumber, and maybe a tad more lime juice than in the original. But really, the heart of this recipe is BOMB! The sauce ingredients are spot on. We will make this again and again, Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I first had mexican shrimp cocktail on vacation in South Padre Island(Hilton Inn has the best) and fell in love with this dish. Tried this recipe and loved it even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very very good...will kick up the heat a little...won't go into my other tweaks...it's your recipe and the shrimp lovers at dinner enjoyed it...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xmyheart
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Magnificent! The flavors and taste of this exquisite Mexican dish will take your breath away! I grew up eating Mexican food all my life and my mother would make this a few times a year. It was a delicacy. This here recipe is almost an exact replica of my mom's with a few minor adjustments. I left out the horseradish and hot sauce, it is flavorful enough without these additions. Also, since we are a small family, I only used 1 lb. of shrimp and 1 cup of Clamato juice. Kept everything else the same although I was very genourous with the cilantro because we love that stuff! Refridgerated for about 4 hours and frosted some pretty glasses in the freezer for a few hours. Served it up with saltines and sliced limes. It was gone in no time at all! Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xmyheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States