Mexican Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by alishanjrma
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I thought this recipe was amazing! I made it for my family and they loved it! I did make a few minor adjustments. Instead of the red onion I added green onions and for the garlic instead of crushed I added minced garlic. I also doubled the hot pepper sauce (Tapatio), and also doubled the avocados and served this on tostada shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
We enjoyed the dish and will definitely make it again. Flavor was really good. I made the recipe exactly as written except I added a bit more hot sauce. I plan to try and make a version that has fresh tomatoes in it and eliminate or reduce the clamato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
very simple and delicious ... will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaos
Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This recipe is fabulous. I didn't change a thing, and after tasting it, I don't want to change a thing! Perfect as an item on an appetizer buffet, or frankly, I could just call it dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
made this today and it is wonderful, couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Fantastic meal, it was well worth the wait, suffering though the amazing aroma. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adelpha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Excellent. Don't expect the usual heavy thick sauce. The recipe is perfect as is but allows for additions such as chopped red pepper, diced tomatos, and diced cucumber. The horseradish may not be traditional but it sure tastes good. I purchased raw shrimp and boiled as opposed to precooked frozen. Had about a cup left over which stored beautifully for the nex day. I was surprised that the lime juice didn't affect the texture of the shrimp. I am guessing this could be made a day ahead. Thanks for a mighty fine recipe, Ms. Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Yummy !!!!!! I've made this twice & each time this shrimp cocktail got gone in the blank of the EYE...... This one is indeed a crowd pleaser !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms.cookinvigirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bessemer City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HOPEBETHAN
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This was really good! A few notes - don't add the avocado until the very end. I left out the claim juice and I used spicy V8
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
My husband and I loved this!! I added a small tomato and a small piece of hot pepper and put everything except the shrimp and avocado in my blender. I hit pulse a couple of times and left it a bit chunky. Then, I put the shrimp and diced avocado in the bowls and poured some of the sauce over it and let it set to meld the flavors. It was so good and my husband used corn chips to dip in the remaining sauce in his bowl. I had about 3/4 cup left of the sauce. I used it the next day over grilled chicken breast. Very good. I plan to make the base again and use it in a chicken and rice casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States