Mexican Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
My husband is from Mexico and for the nine years we have been together, he has asked me to make "Shrimp Cocktail" for him. I have seen pictures of what it was, but never knew how to make it. All the recipes I have looked through did not come close to what he wanted. I just found this recipe and it was very similar to what my husband wanted. He said the only thing to change was leave out the horseradish sauce. He is also not a garlic fan so instead of minced garlic, I put in 2 teaspoons of garlic powder. I just got done making the recipe and my husband taste-tested it. He almost fell to the ground because of how good it was. He told me not to lose this recipe...lol. I wanted to thank you so much for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole in TX
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe. It is beautiful in appearance and makes a great party dish. Next time I will add a bit more hot sauce and horseradish, but that is a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
The taste of the horseradish is very overpowering, but other than that, I LOVED this recipe! Next time I prepare it, I will either omit it or use half of the recommended amount. I also added a lot more hot sauce, but that's just MY personal preference... Thanks for this great idea! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Excellent! Amazing!!! Don't be afraid of the horseradish! It's great in this recipe. I used Tapatio hot sauce, because everytime I have eaten Mexican shrimp cocktail at restaurants it was accompanied by Tapatio. I also used only 1 lb of shrimp, which I marinated in lemon/lime juice for two hours before adding to the mixture. Like other reviewers I added: 1 cucumber (seeded) (a must add to this recipe!) 2 roma tomatoes (seeded) Note- several reviewers gave this recipe a low rating because they said it was too soupy. But true Mexican shrimp cocktail is a "cold soup" reminiscent of a shrimp ceviche. This recipe is truly worth 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
One of my favorites for a hot summer day when you don't want to turn on the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I made this tonight and simply LOVED it. There is no need to stray from the recipe, it is perfect just the way it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Photo by rudeJARHEAD
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great recipe, family was fighting over the last bits. Only changes made was added some small bay scallops and a Jalapeno. I used medium shrimp and they were a little too big for tortilla chips. Would use salad shrimp for the perfect size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alishanjrma
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I thought this recipe was amazing! I made it for my family and they loved it! I did make a few minor adjustments. Instead of the red onion I added green onions and for the garlic instead of crushed I added minced garlic. I also doubled the hot pepper sauce (Tapatio), and also doubled the avocados and served this on tostada shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
We enjoyed the dish and will definitely make it again. Flavor was really good. I made the recipe exactly as written except I added a bit more hot sauce. I plan to try and make a version that has fresh tomatoes in it and eliminate or reduce the clamato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
very simple and delicious ... will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaos
Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States