Mexican Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I love this recipe. It's my favorite dish to eat. Only thing I do different to spice it up is add Chelada like the kind that's used to make micheladas. I use red radish as a side sometimes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
It was ok. We ate it but it took a couple days. Won't remake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I used V8 instead of clamato, and cocktail sauce instead of ketchup and horseradish. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Hubby and I loved this! It's similar to a Mexican restaurant dish we get that we both really like. I cut it in half for just the two of us and cut back on the horseradish just a bit even though we both like things spicy. I'm glad I did; next time I would cut the horseradish in half and add more hot sauce instead. That seems more authentic. I'll also add cucumber and double the avocado. The flavor of this was so good! I served it with tortilla chips as suggested and that was a nice complement. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
It was a hit both times I've served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I did not like this at all. I bought nice, very large shrimp and ruined them with this awful sauce. I will revert to my classic seafood sauce enhanced by a bit of lemon zest and juice with salt and pepper. It never fails to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Thank you! I used this as the basis and modified (I like the term "i frankensteined it") to my taste. I added a whole cucumber (cubed), 4 jalapenos (diced), an extra tablespoon of lime juice, an extra tablespoon of Tabasco (I didn't have horseradish), 1 cup diced tomato, and 6 stalks of celery (diced- a little more than a cup). Of course, my Clamato had been all used up at the last party, so I had to resort to Spicy V8 (which was awesome!!), and a tad bit more ketchup. After I Frankensteined my creation ... IT WAS AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alice, Texas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
My husband is from Mexico and for the nine years we have been together, he has asked me to make "Shrimp Cocktail" for him. I have seen pictures of what it was, but never knew how to make it. All the recipes I have looked through did not come close to what he wanted. I just found this recipe and it was very similar to what my husband wanted. He said the only thing to change was leave out the horseradish sauce. He is also not a garlic fan so instead of minced garlic, I put in 2 teaspoons of garlic powder. I just got done making the recipe and my husband taste-tested it. He almost fell to the ground because of how good it was. He told me not to lose this recipe...lol. I wanted to thank you so much for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole in TX
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe. It is beautiful in appearance and makes a great party dish. Next time I will add a bit more hot sauce and horseradish, but that is a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
The taste of the horseradish is very overpowering, but other than that, I LOVED this recipe! Next time I prepare it, I will either omit it or use half of the recommended amount. I also added a lot more hot sauce, but that's just MY personal preference... Thanks for this great idea! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States