Mexican Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
My husband is not big on new 'recipes', but told me I can keep making this one! I added a lot of the ingredients I saw in the reviews - tequila, celery, diced tomatoes, jalapeno & habanero peppers. I made it extra hot, just like I knew he'd like it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Brought this to a dinner party last night and everyone raved about it! Like others I added celery, 2 avocados instead of 1 and 1 jalapeño. I also used V8 instead of tomato juice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Delicious. I absolutely love Mexican Shrimp cocktail. I would say this recipe is better than most restaurants. I added 1/2 cup cucumber. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GhostPepper
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Didn't follow it exactly but used it as a quick guide. Added a few jalapeños and diced tomatoes to give it more texture and also didn't put as much onions as the recipe calls for. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
My husband LOVES shrimp cocktail, so I tried this one because of the ratings. Clamato is very popular here, so that's what I used. I skipped the salt & used less Clamato. Also, I used 1/2 the red onion & 1/2 cocktail onions--so pretty. The flavor of the sauce wasn't right & the color was not what we're served at restaurants here. I added more ketchup, then a little more. I added a little sugar. I kept tweeking it until it tasted good. The color was still not right & something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blujnqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DaveO
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This was my first time making shrimp cocktail and I followed this recipe to the letter... well almost. I mixed in about a half bottle of a popular Mexican beer. Definitely one of the best dishes I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I loved this recipe!! It was just as I remembered when I had it the first time. It is nice to be able to make it just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Just as a mention, this is traditionally a soup in & out of Mexico (& Spain), which is why many have commented it is very "soupy" in texture. I really like this recipe, in fact have been using another (A/R site) almost exactly the same (except no avocados). In a pinch, I've used "Mrs. T's Bloody Mary Mix" which I drink by the gallon, so it's always in my pantry. I serve it in Margarita glasses, with a soup tureen on table for those who want more! Since I don't care for salad shrimp (too fishy, even when rinsed), I use larger uncooked shrimp, then peel, devein, remove tail & steam lightly. (Why ANYONE leaves the tails on in any dish is my personal bug, cause I hate to have to have to put my fingers in my dinner !!!). I then slice into one or two pieces. But, that's just me, because this dish is one I use only when I entertain, since shrimp are high in cholesterol, & somewhat beyond my regular budget. BTW, the very tail is the tastiest part of the shrimp. My DH (late) taught me to pinch JUST below the tail and pull. It takes a little (muy poco) practice, but I never fail any more, so it will work for you too, I hope. HTH!!! Blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJ Kinville

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Great recepie! I skipped the horse radish but added Tapatio and finely chopped cucumber it was fresh, tasty and crunchy good! Buen provecho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma E Huerta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Chef John's Grilled Garlic and Herb Shrimp

Delicious, fresh garden herb marinated and grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States