Mexican Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GhostPepper
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Didn't follow it exactly but used it as a quick guide. Added a few jalapeños and diced tomatoes to give it more texture and also didn't put as much onions as the recipe calls for. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
My husband LOVES shrimp cocktail, so I tried this one because of the ratings. Clamato is very popular here, so that's what I used. I copied the sauce exactly, except that I skipped the salt & used less Clamato, thinking that if it was too runny, I couldn't fix it & I could always add salt as needed, also more Clamato as needed. At first that was the only real change. Also, I used 1/2 the red onion & 1/2 cocktail onions--so pretty. There's a restaurant here that uses tiny cocktail onions in their shrimp cocktail. The flavor of the sauce wasn't right & the color was not what we're served at restaurants here. I added more ketchup, then a little more. I added a little sugar. I kept tweeking it until it tasted good. The color was still not right & something was missing. I don't think the Clamato was the problem--that's always good. I read a few cocktail sauce recipes, & one here has chili powder. That might be the missing ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blujnqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DaveO
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This was my first time making shrimp cocktail and I followed this recipe to the letter... well almost. I mixed in about a half bottle of a popular Mexican beer. Definitely one of the best dishes I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I loved this recipe!! It was just as I remembered when I had it the first time. It is nice to be able to make it just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Just as a mention, this is traditionally a soup in & out of Mexico (& Spain), which is why many have commented it is very "soupy" in texture. I really like this recipe, in fact have been using another (A/R site) almost exactly the same (except no avocados). In a pinch, I've used "Mrs. T's Bloody Mary Mix" which I drink by the gallon, so it's always in my pantry. I serve it in Margarita glasses, with a soup tureen on table for those who want more! Since I don't care for salad shrimp (too fishy, even when rinsed), I use larger uncooked shrimp, then peel, devein, remove tail & steam lightly. (Why ANYONE leaves the tails on in any dish is my personal bug, cause I hate to have to have to put my fingers in my dinner !!!). I then slice into one or two pieces. But, that's just me, because this dish is one I use only when I entertain, since shrimp are high in cholesterol, & somewhat beyond my regular budget. BTW, the very tail is the tastiest part of the shrimp. My DH (late) taught me to pinch JUST below the tail and pull. It takes a little (muy poco) practice, but I never fail any more, so it will work for you too, I hope. HTH!!! Blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJ Kinville

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Great recepie! I skipped the horse radish but added Tapatio and finely chopped cucumber it was fresh, tasty and crunchy good! Buen provecho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma E Huerta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
We love this!! Just be sure you don't add the avocado until you're ready to eat. So good with tortilla chips!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joe7e7
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe7e7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Excellent!! Was having our Priest to bless my wedding band and we loved it. Will definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States