Mexican Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
If you use ground beef to make this, then it is called Cottage Pie. Shepard's Pie is made with ground lamb. Something I learned while living in England.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Mexican Shepherd's Pie Haiku: "This was pretty bland. Even served with 'stuff' on the side. Cornbread needed jazz." We had to serve ours w/ shredded lettuce, salsa, grated Mexican-blend cheese, and tomatoes to enjoy this b/c it was fairly bland. I made it as directed except only used 1 lb. of ground beef, which I found was more than enough for a 9X13 pan. As other reviews have mentioned, one cornbread mix doesn't quite cover the surface, but I only had one, so I transferred half of the taco meat mixture to a round pie-dish, bagged and froze the rest for another random taco dinner night, then proceeded w/ just the one packet of cornbread mix on top. Upon serving it (schlooop! It squishes and doesn't quite come out in any wedge that would resemble pie) we realized that the cornbread was just so ... boring. If I were to make this again, I'd add cheese and jalapenos and additional spices to the cornbread mix, and if using 9X13, double the cornbread top, or I don't know, omit it altogether and use crushed tortilla chips instead, and maybe add a layer of refried beans ... OK, now we're getting into "new recipe" territory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This was very good, made it exactly as written. Served the olives on the side so everyone could get as much or little as they wanted. Also put out salsa and sour cream for those who wanted it. It was a big hit! A family of 5, and no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
As my son put it...DANG! This was an instant hit at my house. My only changes were that I added about 1/2 cup of chopped green pepper (left over from another recipe so I just tossed them in) and used Cajun Cornbread Mix topping. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kmy.74
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I made whole made cornbread for my top. I also added kidney beans. It was absolutely amazing. Topped with shredded cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Great! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawkbit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I think I oversalted, forgetting that there's salt in the taco seasoning. But it still came out really good. Next time, I think I'll make it in a 9x9 or 8x8 pan instead of a 9x13 so that the layers are thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This is a very good recipe. But i did use my own spices instead of the taco seasoning. Also added the corn to the meat (mexicorn) & pico de gallo as the garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Giving it 4 stars since I'm sure this is my fault. I really, really wanted to love this, but had some troubles - the corn bread didn't cook and took forever (I kept having to take it out and sticking a tooth pick in it for an extra 15 minutes - I used Jiffy). The layer closest to the corn mixture was what didn't cook. Doubled the corn bread as others mentioned but probably would stick to dropping it in spoonfuls and not being so anal about covering every open corner with only 1 box next time. Also added most of a can of black beans to stretch the recipe further and used a half beef half turkey mix. The flavor is good but the cornbread just overwhelmed everything, and I love my cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
YUM. I followed the advice of other reviewers and made two batches of corn muffin mix (I use a recipe from this site instead of the box). I omitted the olives because I don't like them. I loved how easy this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States