Mexican Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
We love this!! After making many times, I have a few adjustments-- we add more beans (usually some kidney), use only 1 1/2 jalapenos, and use 1/2 the olive oil. Paired with some low-fat tortilla chips, this salad is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
I made this for a Cinco de Mayo party to serve as one of the salads, and haven't stopped making it since. I had a neighbor invite us to a last minute pool party and asked if I could bring a munchie. With a half a bowl of leftover Mexican Salad and some tortilla chips this was a huge hit at the party!! I cannot strongly urge enough however to make this ahead of time, as the longer it sits the better it tastes. I also have been making this with the new Enova Oil and Agave Nector ( for diabetics), I have used canned corn instead and it is still an awesome flavored side dish or dip. You can't mess this recipe up, just alter it to your tastes. This is now a summertime staple at our home!(nah- probably all year round) Keep up the great recipes Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This is a nice variation on salsa and chips. Mix it vigorously to slightly mash the beans and make the dip stick together better. I'm looking forward to serving this during the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIGBY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This was very good. I went lighter on the onion--I used half a shallot and one green onion. Plus, I used fresh, raw corn and about 1/4 cup cilantro. This had a nice, mellow flavor, and I didn't find it too spicy at all. Next time, I'll add garlic and maybe a bit of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
As written, this isn't a very flavorful salad. My fiance didn't like it one bit and I thought it was just okay. I wish I hadn't put in the honey, as I ended up using a ton more lime juice for more acidity. After adding cumin, garlic powder, and lots more cilantro it was much better. The only thing I changed was to use yellow bell pepper instead of red, due to what I had on hand. Thanks, but there are better recipes on this site for similar salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I omitted the peppers for the kids. It was healthy and tasted OK, but didn't knock my socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
DELICIOUS! What a great salad. DH who isn't a fan of beans even enjoyed this. Didn't have a red pepper, so used 1/2 yellow and 1/2 green. Omitted the jalapenos and honey. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Another recipe my picky husband liked! I used canned corn because that's what I had and it had a funky smell (as canned corn does), but it didn't taste that way. Overall, a nice change in side dishes for Mexican foods from my usual chips and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
OUTRAGEOUS!!!!! LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BarbeeDoll
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I love this recipe. Its the best. Made just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbeeDoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States