Mexican Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was such a hit at my Cinco de Mayo party, I didn't even get to taste it. But from what I hear, it was delicious. Thanks for the great, easy recipe. I'll need to put some aside for myself next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I made this for a Cinco de Mayo party last week. It was very easy to make (the night before). I can't give personal testimonial as to how good it was, because my guests devoured it before I got to have a taste... So 4 stars because of the compliments I got (may have been 5 stars if I had had some...). Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Very good combination of ingredients. I suggest doubling the amount of cilantro and tomato, cutting out a little of the olive oil and adding an additional TB of lime juice. I also use fresh corn, a chopped avocado, and a minced clove of garlic. If you feel that it is bland, you may need to add a little more salt to bring out the flavors, but if you're using good quality ingredients to begin with, you should get good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suavehouse113

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This was so disappointing. I cannot understand the good reviews on this one. The dressing was overly oily and bland...not near enough lime juice. I was worried when I was making it that olive oil is such a heavy oil for a salad and I was right...a light vegetable oil might have helped. Maybe it is because I live in San Antonio, grew up in Texas eating mexican food...but this was just not flavorful and did not have any kick or spice to it. I followed the recipe exactly and served this at a party as a side dish to pork tacos and fajitas. Almost the entire bowl was left and I ended up dumping it the next day. Sorry. I'll stick to traditional black bean/corn salads from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I certainly support the other reviewers who gave this 5 stars. I scaled it up to 42 servigs and served it in large mex buffet and they loved it. The only thing I would recommend is that if you go with a large quantity be careful with the dressing - it's a little tangy and you might want to add half and see how you like it before you put the rest on. We did that and kept checking it and then ended up adding in increments until we had put it all on anyway. Turned out great and the tang of the dressing is needed to spruce up the beans. I'd say exact proportions of the various beans are optional and you can add as much of any bean you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
It's a good, healthy recipe. There seemed to be a lot of beans though -- maybe add some more tomatoes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This salad is sooooo good. Its hard to believe it is sooooo healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
A little too sweet for us. We prefer the flavors in Black Bean and Corn Salad II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Followed the recipe exactly (except for the jalapenos - only bc I didn't have any, though I bet they would have been good) and was pleasantly surprised. Will definitely make again. Nice side to any Mexican entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Agree with other reviewers - great salad! I used less jalepeno's and more cilantro. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States