Mexican Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I did find that this recipe was a little bland for my taste. I added white beans, used fresh corn off the cob (sauted in garlic and shallots, olive oil, salt and pepper) kicked up the spices a bit and used less olive oil. I will definitely make this again with the adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Sorry, but this is not our favorite. I used the recipe as written and it was very bland. Not sure that I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I love this fresh tasting salad. Lots of chopping, but so worth it. I use only 1 tablespoon of olive oil, the juice of one lime, and 2 or 3 roma tomatoes. Serving tonight with bbq ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dlprince

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Very good - but I thought 1/2 cup olive oil is too much. 1/4 cup was much better. And because I LOVE lime juice - I used 4 TBSP - and next time I will even use more. I'm also a big fan of fresh corn (in season) - and 3 ears was the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Awesome! I used the frozen black bean, corn, pepper and onion mix so it was super easy! The dressing has become a favorite in our family. Quick and easy using prepackaged frozen veggies. just awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennybug

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marbury, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Pretty good recipe. Served it for a small gathering. The next day I added salt & brown rice - made a nice lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This salad was great! I made it the night before hoping it would taste better the next day, but I don't think that would make much of a difference - I would just chill it long enough for it to get cold. I love all the different colors in it. So simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I bring this often to barbecues and it never fails to impress! Goes well with burgers and is a healthy alternative to mayo based side dishes. It might just be me, but I have found that this salad doesn't look or taste as good after leaving overnight in the fridge. I usually make it a few hours ahead of time though and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great salad as is. I made some changes 2nd time - more tomato, avocado chopped & 1/2 t. cumin & minced garlic. Very good either way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Very Yummy! Next time I will use more jalapenos. I used jarred and not fresh, that may have made the difference. But even after 6 tspns I still didn't find it had enough of a kick. Otherwise, very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States