Mexican Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Will make again. Rating 4 stars because I modified slightly. I did not add jalapenos or green pepper or tomato - instead I used a can of Rotel w/chilies. Did not use corn because I didn't have any. And omitted the honey as I didn't think my family would want the sweetness. Very good - there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
GREAT flavor combination! Very bright and fresh flavors. Nice vegetarian option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I enjoyed it okay, my family did not. I did think it could use more flavor in some way, but not sure how. Maybe some sort of Mexican type spice and definitely more lemon/lime juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene016

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I will adjust the seasonings down a bit the next time I make it but this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EvaughnMin
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This recipe was okay, it was a little bland and needed more flavor. We added in avocado and green + red pepper. It's a good base and will probably play with it some before moving on....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Very delicious and colorful salad that everyone thoroughly enjoyed . I have made this several times and it is a very forgiving recipe, you can add different beans and it is still tasty. This is definitely a regular in our home! Thanks Karen for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Used pinto instead of garbanzo. Added 2 tsp cumin. Used only 1/4 C olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Yummy! Of course I love chickpeas and black beans, they are so good and good for you. I did change one thing, I halved the olive oil. 1/2 cup just seemed heavy for me, and I don't personally like heavy dressings or much oil on my salads. Other than that I followed the receipe as written and I thought was great. I served it with corn tortilla chips on the side and both disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Nice basic recipe, but a bit on the sweet/bland side. More lime juice, less olive oil (about 1/4 to 1/4 C of each). Made the dressing in a small bowl, but kicked it up with a clove of finely minced garlic, a big pinch of cumin, some fresh minced oregano, s & p to taste, and no sweetening. Then added the dressing to the salad and tossed, tasted for seasonings, and tossed again. Used red onion for taste and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was excellent. I added less oil and more lime juice. I doubled the recipe, but double the amount of corn seemed too much, so I only used 24 oz. I added another tomato, just because I like it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States