Mexican Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This recipe was okay, it was a little bland and needed more flavor. We added in avocado and green + red pepper. It's a good base and will probably play with it some before moving on....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Very delicious and colorful salad that everyone thoroughly enjoyed . I have made this several times and it is a very forgiving recipe, you can add different beans and it is still tasty. This is definitely a regular in our home! Thanks Karen for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Used pinto instead of garbanzo. Added 2 tsp cumin. Used only 1/4 C olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Yummy! Of course I love chickpeas and black beans, they are so good and good for you. I did change one thing, I halved the olive oil. 1/2 cup just seemed heavy for me, and I don't personally like heavy dressings or much oil on my salads. Other than that I followed the receipe as written and I thought was great. I served it with corn tortilla chips on the side and both disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Nice basic recipe, but a bit on the sweet/bland side. More lime juice, less olive oil (about 1/4 to 1/4 C of each). Made the dressing in a small bowl, but kicked it up with a clove of finely minced garlic, a big pinch of cumin, some fresh minced oregano, s & p to taste, and no sweetening. Then added the dressing to the salad and tossed, tasted for seasonings, and tossed again. Used red onion for taste and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was excellent. I added less oil and more lime juice. I doubled the recipe, but double the amount of corn seemed too much, so I only used 24 oz. I added another tomato, just because I like it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great to bring to summer potlucks! It's a nice change from potato or pasta salads. Bright and crisp and healthy. I used fresh corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Lots of chopping and different ingredients but amazing flavor and so worth the work. Leftovers tasted even better the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
It is a beautiful salad - so colorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I've been looking for non lettuce salads now that we are in for 100 degree days for the next three mos. I like having something in the fridge for easy lunches, this made a lot and I'll probably be the only one that will eat it so i left out tomato. Will add as i eat it since it can get mushy when in fridge to long. I also didn't add honey because i never use it. And used green onion because it's what i had. Will also be good with some avocado. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

This authentic salad is bright with colors and complex flavors.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States