Mexican Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Will make again. Rating 4 stars because I modified slightly. I did not add jalapenos or green pepper or tomato - instead I used a can of Rotel w/chilies. Did not use corn because I didn't have any. And omitted the honey as I didn't think my family would want the sweetness. Very good - there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
GREAT flavor combination! Very bright and fresh flavors. Nice vegetarian option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I enjoyed it okay, my family did not. I did think it could use more flavor in some way, but not sure how. Maybe some sort of Mexican type spice and definitely more lemon/lime juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene016

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I will adjust the seasonings down a bit the next time I make it but this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EvaughnMin
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This recipe was okay, it was a little bland and needed more flavor. We added in avocado and green + red pepper. It's a good base and will probably play with it some before moving on....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Very delicious and colorful salad that everyone thoroughly enjoyed . I have made this several times and it is a very forgiving recipe, you can add different beans and it is still tasty. This is definitely a regular in our home! Thanks Karen for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Used pinto instead of garbanzo. Added 2 tsp cumin. Used only 1/4 C olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Yummy! Of course I love chickpeas and black beans, they are so good and good for you. I did change one thing, I halved the olive oil. 1/2 cup just seemed heavy for me, and I don't personally like heavy dressings or much oil on my salads. Other than that I followed the receipe as written and I thought was great. I served it with corn tortilla chips on the side and both disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Nice basic recipe, but a bit on the sweet/bland side. More lime juice, less olive oil (about 1/4 to 1/4 C of each). Made the dressing in a small bowl, but kicked it up with a clove of finely minced garlic, a big pinch of cumin, some fresh minced oregano, s & p to taste, and no sweetening. Then added the dressing to the salad and tossed, tasted for seasonings, and tossed again. Used red onion for taste and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was excellent. I added less oil and more lime juice. I doubled the recipe, but double the amount of corn seemed too much, so I only used 24 oz. I added another tomato, just because I like it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States