Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I thought this was a great rice side dish. I used chicken broth instead of water, and fresh tomatoes. Next time I would cut the salt to one teaspoon. And it doesn't matter to me what it's called.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Did not like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I'm not quite sure what happened! The flavor was fine, my 1.5 year old liked it. However, I had to start over with this dish because when I brought it to a boil the first time, the bottom became terribly burned and ruined the entire pot of rice. I tried again, stirring frequently, and the bottom still burned but not as badly. Heat was low and everything! It was edible, though. I'm not quite sure if it was the tomato sauce or what, but I've never been so attentive over a pot of rice before in my life and still have the bottom burn! Usually I'm not attentive at all. I set it to boil, turn it down and leave it alone and this never happens so I'm assuming it's the tomato sauce. Will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jacinto, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I'm reviewing knowing that I made changes and so I want to make note of it so I don't forget. I made 16 servings so I used what the directions said but I added 3 fresh corn off the cob, 2 sm cans of pinto beans, 1 sm can of kidney beans, used veg broth instead of water. One jalapeno. 2 chopped gr peppers, 1.5 onions, tumeric in place of saffron and balsamati rice. Everything was very good and I made it the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Made this great rice dish for my Bunco Group's Cinco de Mayo party. Great recipe, did use beef bouillon for water and eliminated the green pepper. It was a great side dish for burritos and tacos. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madquilt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma baker
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
It was great! I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
easy and delicious! Store bought box of Mexican rice and can't compare to this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Loved it!! I am pretty picky when it comes to rice, but this was easy and yummy. My whole family loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Great! Went without the saffron and it was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Delicious basic recipe. I don't like green peppers, so I added fresh spinach. I used brown rice instead of white. I added a can of black beans (rinse first to remove sodium) and baked it covered in the oven for a hour. Brought it to a family gathering and got lots of compliments from a critical family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States