Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
I would rename this recipe "San Antonio" as opposed to Mexican. Being Mexican myself and making this rice or eating it from relatives in Old Mexico, the recipe does not call for all that spice nor peppers, much less all that tomato sauce. Less than 1 can is enough if you use tomato sauce. And the rice is supposed to be sauteed with the onion in the oil. It sounds good, but I don't think it's kid friendly. It's just another Tex-Mex variation of the traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Elizario, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I'm never using boxed red beans and rice to go with Mexican food again! In the past I was a little lost as to what to serve with tacos, or fajitas but now I have an answer. This was really easy, and it tasted a lot like the mexican rice we eat at a Mexican restaurant in my area. Of course, I can't afford saffron, so I omitted it but other than that the ingredients were pretty normal and easy to find. And no one was repulsed by green peppers, which the kids have a problem with every time we sit down to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This was ok but I have had better. It was easy. The cook time listed is too long 25-30 min. is more then enough time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
I would call this a Spanish rice, rather than a Mexican rice, but it was very good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This was the better than the restaurants serve! I only used 1 can of tomato sauce and I used calrose rice. (I've made this numerous times, only so-so with white rice, awesome made with calrose or basmati...different texture depending on rice and whether you sautee it first before adding the liquid.) I use turmeric instead of saffron. (have you seen the cost of that stuff?!!!) This was delicious! My new favorite mexican rice recipe, yeah, it's THAT GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
Wonderful recipe. I have been looking for a recipe that resembles restaurant mexican rice and now I have found it. One thing that I recommend is not to stir at all once the rice is in the simmering stage. DO NOT STIR OR EVEN LIFT THE LID if you want perfect rice. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I started out with leftover Chinese take-out rice so I had to modify the cooking directions. I sauteed the peppers, onions and garlic in butter, then added the cooked rice and the remaining ingredients, using just a little water. The chipotle chili powder I used is hotter than regular old chili powder, so I used just 1/4 of the amount called for and it was plenty spicy for us. The saffron wasn't noticeable so I don't know that I would even bother to include it. I simmered this for just about 10 minutes or so just to meld the flavors. Unlike some of the other reviewers, I'm not fussy about what you call this, or whether or not it's authentic. What's important to me is that it tastes good - and it did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
This is the best version of Mexican Rice I've tried. It's absolutely fantastic. I like to substitute chopped stewed tomatoes (or fresh if they're in season) instead of the tomato sauce. Also be sure to use an oil that does not overpower the dish. Be sure to use the saffron. There have been a couple other reviewers who haven't used it. You have too...otherwise it's like making a lemon dill sauce without the dill (well, almost). Thanks Ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
THANK YOU GINGER for sharing this recipe! I have been looking for a mexican rice recipe forever to no avail. I added a tsp of taco seasoning and sprinkled some cheese at the end to melt! Very good and is a wonderful side dish to one of the many mexican lasagna recipes also found on this site. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This recipe was outstanding! I used Basmati rice as that was the rice that was available to me here in the Netherlands. I have never had a mexican rice recipe come out this good! It was moist and very flavorful. I would not change a thing. It is definitely a keeper and my guests and family loved it! Thank you Ginger for a terrific recipe! Nice to get a touch of tex-mex from an uprooted Texan in Holland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States