Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This rice is awesome! I didn't have saffron so I substituted a little bit of paprika and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Little Rock, Iowa, USA
Living In: Plumas Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Delicious! I only use red peppers, because that's what I usually have on hand. Green peppers would add a nice touch of color though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This was very good. I loved the addition of saffron quite a bit to the rice recipe I did cut back the tomato sauce to one can and I think next time I may cut it back just a little more.. maybe 3/4 of the can. I also added some chopped fresh spinach during the last few minutes of cooking. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Good basic rice. I used brown rice and only 1 8oz. can of tomato sauce and it was perfect- just cooked about 5-10 minutes longer because of the brown rice. Had this with our Mexican meal tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This was the better than the restaurants serve! I only used 1 can of tomato sauce and I used calrose rice. (I've made this numerous times, only so-so with white rice, awesome made with calrose or basmati...different texture depending on rice and whether you sautee it first before adding the liquid.) I use turmeric instead of saffron. (have you seen the cost of that stuff?!!!) This was delicious! My new favorite mexican rice recipe, yeah, it's THAT GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
super good! my family loved it! I also put in some yellow and red bellpeppers and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paramount, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Turned out very mushy and too tomatoey, even though I only used 1 can of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This was so delicious! I didn't have saffron but didn't miss it either. Otherwise I followed directions and I loved how this rice came out. Added to black bean tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Very flavorful and easy to make. Goes great with a variety of Mexican dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Better than all boxed mexican rice that I've tried. I substitute the extra 1/2 can of tomato sauce with a 14oz can of diced tomatoes with green chiles. I usually find that I have to add extra liquid near the end of cooking time. My only complaint is that I wish the rice turned out more fluffy and less thick and mushy. But this doesn't stop me from making it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States