Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made this yesterday and it was great! I'd been looking for a flavorful rice recipe and this certainly fell into that category. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This dish was fast, easy, and pretty good. I agree with other reviewers that the cook time is a bit too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I don't use saffron because it's so expensive, so I left it out of this recipe the first time I made it, and it was really bland. So, to make up for the flavor that I am sure the lack of saffron gave it, the next time I used 1 8oz can of tomato sauce and 1 14 1/2 oz can of diced tomatoes, plus I had to add a little more water to keep it from being dried out and scorched even at reduced heat. This vastly improved the flavor for me. But very easy recipe to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Yum! I only used 1 can of the tomato sauce and that was definitely enough. I didn't have to saffron, so I used 1/4 tsp. turmeric instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I had a real hard time finding saffron and when I did find it, it was $19 for about 1 tbsp of threads of it. So needless t say I omitted the saffron. I used brown rice, my preference. It wasn't the best spanish style rice I've had. I have had better recipes, so I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I don't think I'd eat this on its own, and it is not quite worth the effort over a plain bowl of rice paired with something else, especially chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris n Carinne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissad738

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I didn't have the saffron so I just ommited that. I love onions and green peppers in my mexican rice. This is very good, it was a little tomatoey to me but still good. I used a cup of instant white rice that was already made which made this very quick to make. I just added the tomoto sauce, chopped onion and green pepper and the spices to the already cooked rice and cooked for about 10 - 15 minutes while my enchiladas were baking. Great stuff! EDIT **** made as original recipe states without instant rice and soo soo good. I still didn't have the saffron though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I used spanish saffron rice (yellow package) instead of buying jasmine rice and saffron spice bec. it is expensive and I used smoked green chile peppers from Mexico that I bought at an Harris Teeter event and WOW all put together delicious! Spicy and very tasty :) Oh I did need to occasionally stir my rice bec. some stuck to the bottom and burned and 30 min. was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was a HUGE hit with our family members from Italy. We thought instead of doing the typical Italian meal, we would have them explore Mexican food. A fabulous recipe and SO easy to make! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States