Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I'm never using boxed red beans and rice to go with Mexican food again! In the past I was a little lost as to what to serve with tacos, or fajitas but now I have an answer. This was really easy, and it tasted a lot like the mexican rice we eat at a Mexican restaurant in my area. Of course, I can't afford saffron, so I omitted it but other than that the ingredients were pretty normal and easy to find. And no one was repulsed by green peppers, which the kids have a problem with every time we sit down to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Excellent recipe. I used Rotel tomatoes. Saffron is usually found in the spice section of any grocery store. Although expensive, a little goes a very long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
This is the best version of Mexican Rice I've tried. It's absolutely fantastic. I like to substitute chopped stewed tomatoes (or fresh if they're in season) instead of the tomato sauce. Also be sure to use an oil that does not overpower the dish. Be sure to use the saffron. There have been a couple other reviewers who haven't used it. You have too...otherwise it's like making a lemon dill sauce without the dill (well, almost). Thanks Ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
Wonderful recipe. I have been looking for a recipe that resembles restaurant mexican rice and now I have found it. One thing that I recommend is not to stir at all once the rice is in the simmering stage. DO NOT STIR OR EVEN LIFT THE LID if you want perfect rice. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Great recipe! It has a lot of flavor and the consistancy is perfect! Goes fantastic with chicken! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
too much tomato paste. made the rice very soft and mushy...not light and fluffy as i was hoping. could not find saffron no where in brooklyn...would not try this one again..sorry ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
excellent recipe, but use a non stick pan so you need barely any oil...and you'll have to get more creative with the additions to the rice, or it's a little bland. I added corn, jalapeno, anaheim, and red peppers, zucchini, and extra tomato, black beans, and hot sauce to the mix. I served it with sour cream on top and drizzled with...lime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
This is the recipe that the Tex-Mex dinners use...finally found it! It's not in many mexican cook books..Its so basic all the Mamma's just knew how to make it!Thank you Ginger! The only thing I added was a half of can of green peas. And Enchalada sauce might work for the tomato sauce without the chili powder...Will need to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
This recipe has become a favorite at my house. I had a hard time finding Saffron so I substituted 1 packet of Goya's Con Azafran spice for the cumin and saffron. I prefer to use Mexican Styled Stewed Tomatoes in place of the tomato sauce. My mom also likes to add a can of pink beans when you pour in the water. Thank you Ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
THANK YOU GINGER for sharing this recipe! I have been looking for a mexican rice recipe forever to no avail. I added a tsp of taco seasoning and sprinkled some cheese at the end to melt! Very good and is a wonderful side dish to one of the many mexican lasagna recipes also found on this site. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States