Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Great! Variations: I omitted the saffron. I used small can of diced green chilies instead of green peppers. Used only 1 can of tomato sauce. Turned out great. I served this with Tacos and mexican corn cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hebron, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
this was ok. it looked pretty - also added a little yellow pepper. it was easy and came out good, but with out much of a kick like the prepared ones. i think i would add a little medium or hot salsa in the simmer process next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Simple and flavourful rice dish. Instead of tomatoe sauce, I used pureed salsa, which gave this dish a really nice flavour. I didn't have any saffron, so I used tumeric. This went really well with my mexican themed lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
My boyfried really liked this. I'm not a fan of spicy food, so this was a little too hot for my britches! I didn't have saffron on hand, but would like to try it for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I was looking for a quick spanish rice recipe and this was definitely it. Very flavorful and easy. I added some diced tomatoes and green chilles to add more flavor...thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Very simple and easy, taste great. I was dissapointed that I could not find saffron at my local grocery store, I even live in L.A.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALFFINGR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I'm never using boxed red beans and rice to go with Mexican food again! In the past I was a little lost as to what to serve with tacos, or fajitas but now I have an answer. This was really easy, and it tasted a lot like the mexican rice we eat at a Mexican restaurant in my area. Of course, I can't afford saffron, so I omitted it but other than that the ingredients were pretty normal and easy to find. And no one was repulsed by green peppers, which the kids have a problem with every time we sit down to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Excellent recipe. I used Rotel tomatoes. Saffron is usually found in the spice section of any grocery store. Although expensive, a little goes a very long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
This is the best version of Mexican Rice I've tried. It's absolutely fantastic. I like to substitute chopped stewed tomatoes (or fresh if they're in season) instead of the tomato sauce. Also be sure to use an oil that does not overpower the dish. Be sure to use the saffron. There have been a couple other reviewers who haven't used it. You have too...otherwise it's like making a lemon dill sauce without the dill (well, almost). Thanks Ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
Wonderful recipe. I have been looking for a recipe that resembles restaurant mexican rice and now I have found it. One thing that I recommend is not to stir at all once the rice is in the simmering stage. DO NOT STIR OR EVEN LIFT THE LID if you want perfect rice. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States