Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
My 10-yr old son told me to rate this a 10-star recipe! It has the perfect bite, is flavorful, and is a great "base" for adding vegetables and beans so he can have a healthy meal (he is a vegetarian). He had 3 servings tonight and can't wait to have it again tomorrow with the extras added in. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Urbana, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
the rice came out a lil mushy but it still tasted great...i even ate the leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
We like a little more spice, but this was good. I also used chicken broth instead of water and added some green chili peppers. I will make this again and add more of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This was nothing like the Mexican rice we get at our local Mexican restaurants in NC. It just tasted like tomato rice. I was not happy with this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
Good recipe that will definately serve 8. Fairly easy to prepare and MUCH better than anything out of a box. I really like saffron and appreciate the flavor in the rice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This recipe was outstanding! I used Basmati rice as that was the rice that was available to me here in the Netherlands. I have never had a mexican rice recipe come out this good! It was moist and very flavorful. I would not change a thing. It is definitely a keeper and my guests and family loved it! Thank you Ginger for a terrific recipe! Nice to get a touch of tex-mex from an uprooted Texan in Holland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
Excellent recipe. Because I had an extra can of tomatoes w/chilies, I added that in place of 1/2 of the tomato sauce requirement. Also, did not add saffron. Quite good with the King Ranch Casserole III and some chopped lettuce and tomatoes on the side, and garnishes of guacomole, salse, and sour cream. Thanks, Ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
The results-to-effort ratio is off the scale: restaurant-quality Mexican rice that's as easy to make as a Lipton sidedish. Bravo, Ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
This rice was fairly tasty, but not quite as flavorful as I expected. I added chicken bouillon to the water as others have suggested, along with garlic salt, green chilis, and diced tomatoes. A good basic recipe, but needs some additional seasonings, I think. I have tried several rice recipes from this site, but I still think the best and most flavorful is Mexican Rice II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States