Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Tasted fine, but it was overcooked, making the rice somewhat mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
This recipe was a huge hit in my family, even though I would have liked it a bit more spicy. My stepson is beyond picky when it comes to eating new things, but he loved this! He even when up for seconds. My 3 year old ate it too :) I will definitely make this again. The only change I made was using turmeric instead of saffron. Turned out great still!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I made this and it is excellent. I used brown rice instead, which I prefer. I didn't use Saffron though (too pricey), seasoned 2 tsps of taco seasoning instead. Also I used Spicy V8 instead of the tomato sauce. Very good side dish to any Mexican meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Cooked as the recipe states but without saffron. Very good. No more than 25 minutes for the rice and no peaking yields the best results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Good recipe, but needs more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I thought this was a great rice side dish. I used chicken broth instead of water, and fresh tomatoes. Next time I would cut the salt to one teaspoon. And it doesn't matter to me what it's called.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Did not like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I'm not quite sure what happened! The flavor was fine, my 1.5 year old liked it. However, I had to start over with this dish because when I brought it to a boil the first time, the bottom became terribly burned and ruined the entire pot of rice. I tried again, stirring frequently, and the bottom still burned but not as badly. Heat was low and everything! It was edible, though. I'm not quite sure if it was the tomato sauce or what, but I've never been so attentive over a pot of rice before in my life and still have the bottom burn! Usually I'm not attentive at all. I set it to boil, turn it down and leave it alone and this never happens so I'm assuming it's the tomato sauce. Will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jacinto, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I'm reviewing knowing that I made changes and so I want to make note of it so I don't forget. I made 16 servings so I used what the directions said but I added 3 fresh corn off the cob, 2 sm cans of pinto beans, 1 sm can of kidney beans, used veg broth instead of water. One jalapeno. 2 chopped gr peppers, 1.5 onions, tumeric in place of saffron and balsamati rice. Everything was very good and I made it the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Made this great rice dish for my Bunco Group's Cinco de Mayo party. Great recipe, did use beef bouillon for water and eliminated the green pepper. It was a great side dish for burritos and tacos. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States