Mexican Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
Great side-served it with Salsa Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
It's hard to give five stars to a side dish. Why? Well, because it's a side dish--not the main event. No so with this one. Truly great side dishes seem rare. I will absolutely remember this one as long as I'm able to cook. I served it with Spinich Enchiladas, available at allrecipes, but it is so versatile that it would work with so many dishes. I used a full can of veggie broth and the rice could still have been a little more moist. Don't be afraid to use the jalapeno pepper. Amazingly, with the pepper, chili powder (I used Mexian chili powder) and cumin, this recipe only offers a little zip. It's not spicy HOT, like one might expect. There are so many elements that make this recipe great but the cheese really makes it pop. Don't leave it out. It provides just the right finishing touch. My somewhat picky adult son said this one was amazing! Victory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I made this recipe as a side dish to go with fajitas, and it worked really well. I added about 1/3 of a cup of salsa to it and to cut the fat content I did not use the cheese. The rice came out very moist and delicious. I also used white rice instead of brown because it was all I had in the house, and it still came out great. Great recipe, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
Loved it! I used slow cooking brown rice, 1 can of Mexican tomatoes, and placed browned boneless, skinless chicken thighs on top of the rice for the last 20 minutes of cooking, then just sprinkled the cheese on top to melt. I also added 1 cup frozen corn to the mix and it was really terrific! A great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
This was okay eating. I used chicken broth (which MAY have altered the receipe too much) but no matter which broth you use, it seems to need just a little more (perhaps an extra 1/4 cup?). Some of my rice was slightly undercooked. Also, with the amount of rice vs the red peppers and tomatoes required, it just seemed too much...and we LOVE red peppers and tomatoes, possibly lessen one ingrediant or omit one altogether? Since I have found better rice side dishes, I probally won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I used chicken broth rather than vegetable broth, and regular basmati rice, vs instant rice (3/4c rice for a 1:2 ratio of rice to liquid). Simmered with the broth and other listed ingredients until cooked through (maybe 15-20mins?). This was good and is serving as a side dish tonight to our leftover Southwestern Egg Rolls from this website. Thanks for the recipe, Alison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This was good...I made a few modifications -- no diced red pepper or cheese and used 1 cup tomato sauce, 3 cups beef broth, and 1-1/2 cups regular white rice. I'm a REALLY bad rice maker...my husband thought for sure this was a packaged mix because it was good and he knows I can't make rice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
This is an excellent dish! Recieved RAVE reviews from the pickiest of eaters! I did use 1 whole can of vegetable broth and I think it needed the extra liquid. Also used almost double the cheese and it was excellent! SUPURB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Very good! I didnt have chili powder and I used white rice. Didnt even need to add cheese. Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina Gondra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Just okay in my book. I was cleaning out the pantry so tossed in some corn and cilantro, and used a can of Rotel tomatoes in place of the tomato and jalapeno. Despite the additions it was still missing something. I cooked it in my rice cooker - just threw in everything except the cheese and let it go. Couldn't be simpler, I'll give it that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States