Mexican Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Simple and easy mexican rice. The cheese adds a nice stickiness. Definitely use more broth than the recipe tells you too. I just eyed it added 1/4 cup more every time it was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilbunnyhuhu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was really good!I didnt broth (which i realized after i started cooking), nor did i have jalapenos. i figured i'd just double the chile pepper. i added butter, peas, and more garlic, but this recipe needs waaaaaaay WAY more garlic. to eat it i sprinkled on some cheese and squeezed on some lime and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I thought this was so tasty. I did change things a little. I only had medium brown rice so I cooked it in the steamer like I normally do. I sauteed the onion, garlic and red bell pepper together with the seaonings. Then I threw in the diced jalapenos, rice and a can of diced tomatoes. I forgot to add the cheese but I thought it was delicious the way it came out. A little spicier than I would have liked but next time I will either leave out the jalapenos or use less chili powder. I definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofthreekids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Great! I did use Rotel tomatoes and no red pepper, because I didn't have one. I forgot to add the cheese and the rice was wonderful without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This is one of my favorite recipes ever. We double it, and use pepperjack cheese instead. Also, in a pinch, we've used a box of Uncle Bens rice pilaf and just discarded the spice packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Kovacs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I made rice in a rice cooker; if you do this skip the excessive water/veggie broth as it will make the rice too moist. It is very spicy if you add a can of jalapenos, over all WAY better than restaurant Mexican Rice which I never order/eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Not spectacular but a decent way to jazz up brown rice. Used regular brown rice, so I increased the liquid and cooked longer. The recipe makes -way- more than 2 servings, makes more like 6 servings. I halved the recipe and after my BF and I had it last night there is at least a serving left over. Definitely use the cheese. The recipe needs a healthy amount of salt and pepper as well. Even with all those spices it was pretty bland. I'll probably not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was a delicious side dish. It had the right amount of flavour but was not too spicy. The recipe made quite a lot but it didn't matter because my guests just kept on eating it! Thank you for submitting this recipe. It is one of my favourites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
A perfect side to any Mexican dish! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I make this recipe once a week and serve it with something else for dinner (eg quiche, vegetable kebabs, stuffed capsicums etc). I like to use brown rice instead of white as it is so much healthier and this is the only recipe I have come accross that makes brown rice tasty! I think the grated cheese is the secret. My husband loves it too and doesnt dread any more when I say we are having brown rice tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States