Mexican Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I made this recipe for a dinner with the neighbors and they couldn't get enough of it. This is a winner! I will make this agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I made this recipe as a side dish to go with fajitas, and it worked really well. I added about 1/3 of a cup of salsa to it and to cut the fat content I did not use the cheese. The rice came out very moist and delicious. I also used white rice instead of brown because it was all I had in the house, and it still came out great. Great recipe, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
Loved it! I used slow cooking brown rice, 1 can of Mexican tomatoes, and placed browned boneless, skinless chicken thighs on top of the rice for the last 20 minutes of cooking, then just sprinkled the cheese on top to melt. I also added 1 cup frozen corn to the mix and it was really terrific! A great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
Great side-served it with Salsa Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
Delicious! I used regular brown rice (not the instant kind) and sauteed it with the onion and garlic to give it a nuttier quality. The cheese adds a delicious creaminess and bite to this perfect Mexican rice. Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Royalton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This was delicious! I used 1/2 the jalapeno pepper, and it had just the right zing for me. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
I chose this rice dish to accompany a Chicken Monterey Recipe. It was truly wonderful and not that difficult to prepare. I omitted the jalapeno pepper and it still tasted very authentic with the mexican spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
This is an excellent dish! Recieved RAVE reviews from the pickiest of eaters! I did use 1 whole can of vegetable broth and I think it needed the extra liquid. Also used almost double the cheese and it was excellent! SUPURB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This was good...I made a few modifications -- no diced red pepper or cheese and used 1 cup tomato sauce, 3 cups beef broth, and 1-1/2 cups regular white rice. I'm a REALLY bad rice maker...my husband thought for sure this was a packaged mix because it was good and he knows I can't make rice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Yummy. Just enough spices. Perfect. My husband likes very spicy and I am more of a mild person, so this recipe was great. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States