Mexican Rice Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Whoa. A little on the salty side. Meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Whisk

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
To cut down on the salt issue that another reviewer had, I used homemade chicken broth to cook the rice in and just omitted the chicken bouillion. I also did not add the additional salt called for in the recipe. We don't like green pepper so I used red in it's place. This recipe turned out a lightly "mexican" seasoned rice that complimented my enchiladas nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This rice was really good, I dont think I would call it Mexican rice but it had some mexican qualities. I just threw all the ingrediants into my rice cooker and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashadybarlink

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I was surprised how good this tasted. I always read the reviews because what I cook is based on my time and what I have in the kitchen to cook. So I added 2T of Penzey's chicken soup base in place of the bouillon, and cut the salt back to 1tsp. It was easy, flavorful, and satisfying. Thanks Sonya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is more like chicken flavored rice than mexican to me. It is good, but I don't understand why they tell you to store the seasoning. There is not enough seasoning to make the rice twice. It is also very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hannover, Niedersachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
First made on March 10, 2008 Next time I would add chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rotterdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Over all this recipe was surprisingly good. I was in a hurry and had to make a few changes. The first being I did not have the time to cut up onions and peppers so they were left out and instead I added one teaspoon of onion powder. I took the advice of the other reviewer and added a can of diced tomatoes. Instead of the boullion granules I replaced it with half the water called for and half chicken broth. By doing this it ends up less salty and you could add the original salt required before or after cooking. Another thing I would do the next time I make this recipe would be to use the required liquid on the package of the rice. After cooking it still came out a little too moist and mushy.I doubled this recipe for a family of five and there was only a small amount left over. Even the pickiest of eaters went to town on this rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I was really dissapointed with this recipe. It was WAY too salty. I doubled the recipe because it was for 10 people and I had to add 2 cups of instant rice to absorb the excess water and salt. I added black beans, which was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I was looking for a Mexican or Spanish rice side dish and I liked the combination of ingredients for this recipe. I threw the ingredients into a rice cooker for a time saver. I added a 1/2 can or about 8 oz. of Mexican stewed tomatoes. I lowered the chicken bouillion from 2 T to 1 T. and didn't add any of the salt. The rice turned out excellent. It was better than the main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States