Mexican Rice III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Great flavor. I didn't have jalapeno or tomato so I just skipped that. Still enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I made it in a rice cooker; I warmed the rice in the oil (lid open) and as it heated up added the veg so they'd saute in the oil a bit. I stirred the rice around but didn't add the liquid until I was ready to close the lid and run the cycle. It turned out fluffy and with a delicious flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Absolutely love this recipe! My husband requests it at least once a week!!! Very fresh, flavorful, and easy to make. I usually have to add a bit more broth during the cooking process so my rice doesn't become dry before it is finished cooking, but otherwise a perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I’m an “authentic” Tex-Mexican from south Texas and in my opinion this recipe is 100% authentic. I alter my recipe a bit depending on my audience’s taste preferences. For example, I might use 1/4c bell pepper or 2 tomatoes, or ½ c tomato sauce if I don’t have fresh tomatoes, or even ½ tsp garlic salt if I don’t have fresh garlic. Sometimes, I even omit the jalapenos or chicken bouillon. I recommend following the exact recipe and then altering to your taste preferences or dietary needs/restrictions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This was a big hit for dinner! The key is to not to open the lid on that pot for the entire 20 minutes. My few changes were that I omitted the jalapeno and cilantro, used 2 cups of broth instead of 1 1/2 cups and replaced green pepper with diced carrots. I also sauteed the rice with the onion and garlic before adding the broth. I think I'm going to try adding a can of tomato sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Made a slight change to this recipe by omitting the cilantro (don't particularly like the flavor)and substituted the jalapeno with chipotle pepper in adobo sauce. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Excellent.....I am going to add some sausages to the left overs...makes a good 2nd meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
love this! It's really easy and came out delicious! Great side dish for cilantro lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I can't tell if it's authentic or not, but it is similar to rice I've had in Mexico. The best thing about this recipe is that you can goof and it still works. See, I only had the one tomato, which I needed for my pork tacos, and only one can of tomato paste, for tomorrow's chili. So....ketchup! I made sure no one saw me add it, and didn't tell them what my secret ingredient was until they told me how delicious it was. I can't decide whether to hang my head in shame or hold it high, proud of being so innovative. Bottom line, this is very tasty rice! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Excellent! I didn't have fresh tomato or white rice, so I used red bell pepper, 1/2c of tomato sauce, long grain brown rice and an additional 1c of water. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 689) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States