Mexican Rice III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Authentic or not, this is a fabulous recipe...I leave out the bell pepper though simply because I don't like it. Also, brown the rice along with the onion and garlic for best flavor, and squeeze in the juice of 1/2 fresh lime just before covering. THE SECRET TO GETTING THE RICE TO "FLUFF UP" is 1) use long grain white rice, 2) make sure whatever liquid you use is HOT when you add it, 3) ALWAYS use twice as much liquid as rice (1 cup rice, 2 cups chicken broth or water) and 4) once you cover your pot and turn your burner to low, DON'T TOUCH the rice, DON'T LIFT the lid, don't stir it, let it do it's thing. After 20 minutes turn burner off but let the pot sit for at least another 5 - 10 minutes before removing the lid. You will have perfect rice, every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
807 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Very good rice, although in my mind not entirely authentic. My husband IS an authentic Mexican, and his mother's rice is nothing like this. It may just be a regional thing, though - I saw a few comments that this rice is similar to that served in Arizona restaurants, whereas my in-laws are in Texas and most of the rice served in those Mexican restaurants are very similar to my mother-in-law's. Although here in the northeast I find most Mexican restaurant rice similar to what I'm used to, also. But, anyway.... Next time I will: omit the green pepper as their taste tends to bully the other flavors, up the cumin to 3/4 tsp, and stir in the cilantro after the rice is cooked to keep it's fresh, earthy flavor intact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
493 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I really love this recipe but agree with a previous reviewer that, while it is pretty authentic Mexican restaurant fare, it isn't anything like the rice I've had made by people from Mexico. Living in the Phoenix area for 15+ years, I've had lots of variations on the theme. Still, it is an excellent recipe, and my husband prefers it to any that we've had in restaurants. I found that it is even tastier if I saute the rice for a few minutes, then add the veggies (garlic finely minced)to the pan and let them cook down just a bit. That way, the flavors "mingle" better, and it sweetens up the garlic and onion. A brief saute also distributes the taste of the jalapeno and dissipates the heat. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
358 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. The traditional Mexican rice that my Mother-in-law makes takes a lot longer to prepare. The prep time for this recipe is almost nothing, and I don't think my Husband could tell the difference.Make sure the rice gets toasted long enough, every grain should be browned. I cook the onions with the rice, then add some garlic and the peppers, then petite diced canned tomatoes. Simmer one minute, then add the broth and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I know the recipe calls for white long grain rice, but I tried using brown rice instead to make it healthier. It didn't come out very good. My husband liked it, but I didn't. Just in case someone else has this not-so-bright-idea, I wouldn't recommend using brown rice for this recipe. Not only does it take longer to cook, which I knew beforehand - it doesn't taste as good as white rice and doesn't pick-up the flavor as well. Next time I try this - I'm using white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
Great flavor! Plates nicely too! I do have some advise for another reviewer, SISTAJAI. I had the same problem with rice for a long time. Finally I corrected it. One reason could be brand - get a name brand long grain rice, not the store brand kind (it makes a HUGE difference in texture) also, when you reduce the heat and cover, DO NOT PEAK! Don't stir it, don't touch it until the 20+ minutes is up, then check it. If there's still a lot of liquid, keep the lid off and cook until it's evaporated. I hope this helps : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Just the right side dish served with Chicken Kabobs Mexicana and Best Black Beans. Whether it's authentic Mexican or not, whether it should or shouldn't include bell peppers, I don't care. This was delicious, plain and simple, as written, with just a dab of butter thrown in at the end for added richness. Pefect, fresh, and unique blend of flavors. Hmmm, who knows what's "authentic" anyway? Is cooking ANY dish of any ethnicity ever precise and exact? Thanks for sharing your recipe, which we thoroughly enjoyed and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Fabulous! I used all the ingredients and measurements as written, however,I added the chopped onion to the rice and oil (I used olive oil) in step one and when the rice was opaque I also added to garlic. (do not add the garlic with the rice and onion... it will burn and be bitter). I then stirred the cumin into the rice before adding the broth. Brought it to a boil, added everything else and returned it to a boil...and this means a full, rolling boil, not just a few bubbles! If you don't have a really tight fitting lid, cover the kettle with foil and then place the lid on top.. folding the excess foil up a over the top. This will help create a better seal and keep more steam in to cook the rice. Also, as another person mentioned...DON'T PEEK! After 20 minutes on low, remove from the heat and let sit another 5 minutes...and DON'T PEEK! Thanks for the wonderful recipe...it will be a staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Here's a suggestion: Make sure you bring all your ingredients together before you start cooking the rice...Have everything cut up and ready to go so that you aren't opening the rice constantly...That makes it sticky and clumped together. Otherwise, great taste and I will definitely make this again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
This is a great recipe, but for the best use of cilantro, you should add it during the last 5 minutes or simply stir it in before serving. The fresh flavor is easily cooked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 692) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States