Mexican Rice III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I should have made sure I had cumin, but I didn't! And my stock was frozen! So I used water and turmeric, believe it or not, and the rice had a beautiful color and delicious flavor. I sauteed the veggies for a few minutes after browning the rice, then added the liquid. It was good with my substitutions so I imagine it will be really great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I normally have an aversion to Mexican rice, preferring Spanish rice. I gave this rice a try because I wanted to serve an authentically Mexican dinner one night. Everyone liked it, including me. I have to admit, though, I still prefer Spanish rice; but that's just me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This is a no fail recipe. I've been making it for years. I follow the directions to the letter and it turns out perfect every time. The combination of flavors and seasonings give it a wonderful authentic Mexican taste. I'm not a huge rice fan, but I can't get enough of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This was really good. I didn't have a fresh tomato so I added half a can of drained diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This is AMAZING rice! We had it with fajitas and guacamole! Since corn is in season, and extremely cheap in the grocery stores, I cut off the kernals of 2 cobs and added them in with the other veggies. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Tasty and colorful side to a Mexican dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Was fantastic! I left out green pepper- we don't care for the flavor, & added the cilantro at the end of cooking. Was great! Will make this again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Great recipe. Subbed 1 can Ro-Tel Diced Tomatoes w/ Habaneros for the tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This rice was awesome! I took the advice of christina b and browned the rice with the onion and garlic. I had homemade chicken broth (which I did about 2 1/2 cups) and garden tomatoes. Mmmmmmmm. I might add some chili powder and peas next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I really like the flavor of this rice, but it was rather spicy (even after I had seeded most of the jalapeno in it). I doubled the recipe, and added a teaspoon of chicken base to it (because I had no bouillon cubes), but also added too much cumin toward the end of cooking it. My two-year-old spit it out, and said "spicy" for the first time in her life. I think next time, I will fully seed the jalapenos and stick to the measurement of cumin shown in the recipe (or less). If it was not so much work, it probably would not taste so good that I went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 691) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States