Mexican Rice III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I just made this recipe and am eating it for lunch in front of the computer. It is good! For those who claim it is not authentic, that is like saying everyone in Mexico cooks identical recipes and that the cooks don't vary according to what they have on hand. Just like you, they make rice to the liking of their families. I spent a lot of time in Mexico and I've eaten rice in tiny villages and in big cities. Trust me, it is not all the same. This is a good recipe, try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
5 stars from me for the flavor! I like to rinse my rice, rinse it some more, then rinse it some more, then fry up the rice, add the chopped onion & garlic just before the rice browns, then saute it all until the rice is golden but not to let the garlic brown. I leave out the bell pepper just cause that's our preference but it's still good with, & usually use hot chicken broth but this is one of those times we actually like the bouillon, too...I love the tasty, fluffy rice you get at (American) Mexican restaurants & this is a close match for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This is a winner! I made no changes and it was a hit. My aunt who doesn't like Mexican Rice loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Loved this. I've tried mexican rices before, but they never turned out quite like I wanted them to. This one was the exception. I substituted red bell pepper for the green, and left out the jalapeno because I didn't have any on hand. Sauteed the onion and pepper with the rice, then added the garlic just before adding the stock (used 2 cups stock to 1 cup rice). Turned out perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe! The only change I made was not add the bell pepper and took the jalapeno seeds out. Just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
WOW!!! This was great, thanks to Karen H's review! I followed her advise to a T, and this rice was wonderful! My husband was a little worried at first but he liked it too! I didn't put in the green pepper and forgot the cilantro (my husband doesn't like it but I was going to put a little in mine but forgot! I will remember next time) I will definitely be making this again! My daughters' boyfriend makes great rice but I think this is just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This rice is so delicious, its the only rice I make now when making mexican dishes. MUST MUST try this recipe, very fresh tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I have made Mexican rice before, but had never found the perfect recipe until now! I tried this one for the first time this evening, and it was perfect! Absolutely delicious! I did do a tiny bit of tweaking for convenience sake and to use what I had on hand, but I basically followed the recipe. I doubled the recipe because we had some company over. In the interest of time, I used two 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes (juice drained off so I didn't have too much liquid) instead of seeding and chopping a couple of fresh ones. As per another reviewer's tip on the ratio of liquid to rice, I used four cups of broth to two cups of rice. I'd used half an onion for another side, so instead of using a whole onion for a double batch, I just used the other half of the onion I'd already chopped. I think it would have been fantastic with the full amount of onion too though. I also cut out the jalapeno, because my husband can't take much heat, and used olive oil rather than vegetable oil. But other than that, I prepared the recipe as written. This has gone into my recipe box, and will be my go-to recipe for Mexican rice from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste Rae

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
5 Star Recipe - Really delicious with just enough spice/heat. We aren't garlic fans and even though we left that ingredient out, it was so good. mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 692) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States