Mexican Rice III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Use your Pampered Chef rice cooker, it'll be perfect! Delicious! I doubled the recipe for a full pot. I didn't change a thing as far as ingredients. I heated the chicken broth in the rice cooker. I chopped all of my veggies in the mini chopper and sauteed in a frying pan. I pan fried the rice in oil until lightly browned. I added the veggies, rice and seasoning to the chicken broth. I cooked covered on high for 5 minutes, then on 50% power for 15 minutes. I let it sit for 10 minutes before opening the lid. It was perfect! (For simplicity, replace the "do-it-yourself" veggies with Fresh Salsa- the chopped veggie kind from the produce section. It'll work the same and save a lot of time and mess) Thanks for sharing Alanasmom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This rice was a hit with both adults and children. I chose not to add too much jalapeño. The flavour was rich yet light. It was easy to prep but it does take some time to chop the ingredients. Let that not stop you from putting in the effort get ending up with a rice dish that will have people asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juan Carlos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medellín, Antioquia, Colombia
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This was good, I did leave out the jalapeno since I'm not a fan of them but I left everything else the same. It was an easy dish and tasted good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
My family and I really liked this recipe! I used some roasted, hot green chiles instead of the jalapeno, and an orange bell pepper instead of green because that's what I had on hand and it was great. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I made this rice to go along with some crab & shrimp enchiladas and it was quite yummy. The only problem I had was that my grocery store accidentally stocked Italian parsley in the Cilantro section so I had to leave out the cilantro. Though the recipe was great without it, it definitely would have made it that much better. Again, I followed this recipe exactly as written except I only used half a chicken bouillon cube. Will make again for a Mexican night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Absolsutely declicious! Perfect. Followed the recipe with the exception of the fresh tomato. I had 3 heirlooms but am holding on to those for another recipe so I opened a can of diced tomatoes, drained and used about 1/2 the can. Worked out great! Hubby and kids said one of the best rice dishes yet. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Very good. I used fat free, low sodium chicken broth in place of the chicken broth & bouillon cube. I also waited to add the cilantro until just before serving. I love that fresh kick that cilantro has, but some of that is lost when it's cooked. So yummy. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I loved this rice. I made the recipe as written and it turned out perfect. I was worried about the heat from the jalapeño but it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This "Mexican Rice III," recipe is very good on its own. I only omitted the jalapeno pepper because my family cannot handle the spiciness or heat. In a skillet I sauteed the long grain rice in oil with chopped white onions and then added the chopped garlic. I seasoned with salt, black pepper and cumin. I added some sweet orange, red, and green bell peppers, stirred, then turned off the heat. Lastly, I chopped up some fresh roma tomatoes, then added it to the skillet. I mixed up everything and added it to the rice cooker. I then added the 1 1/2 cup of chicken stock (no bouillon) and let it cook. Once it was done I let the rice sit for a few minutes to let it steam thoroughly and set. I lifted up the rice cooker lid and threw in some chopped fresh cilantro onto the rice to retain its color, add freshness and taste. The rice was very pretty with all its vibrant colors from the tomatoes, bell peppers and sprinkles of bright green fresh cilantro. The rice was cooked perfectly, fluffy, and inviting. I found this rice very fresh, lightly seasoned and flavorful. I served this with, "Chicken Kabobs Mexicana, " and "Best Black beans,' also from this website. Thank you for sharing your recipe ALANASMOM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 695) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States