Mexican Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
A warning to others. Don't try this with brown rice. I gave up after cooking it for 30 minutes when it still wasn't soft. Next time I will use the correct rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This recipe was perfect as a side dish. My husband couldn't believed I made it from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Great with the Enchiladas I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
If you read the other reviews you'll know that the rice doesn't puff at all. I've made this twice and both times I had to add more stock to the pot to get the rice cooked. I think I'll find a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is such an easy recipe. I will never buy boxed Mexican rice. It's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pizzacake
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I made this today with two adjustments. First, I used 1 1/3 cups rice as I was concerned there would be a soupy tomato sauce consistency and used a full tsp. of cumin. It turned out just perfect. We all loved the texture and flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Great recipe. Beats all the other rice recipes on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
The texture was great. But the flavor was only so-so. Not bad, but not what I get at a local Mexican Restaurant. It was a little too salty and tasted too much like a taco seasoning packet. I may try again with less cumin and maybe fresh garlic instead of garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesstemple

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Best mexican rice recipe! Delicious and easy to make with ingredients I already had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I love this Mexican rice recipe. And with just a few minor additions I would give it five stars. The first time I made it I liked it quite a bit but I felt it needed more texture. So I increased the onion to slightly more than 1/3 of a cup, and I add one rib of small-diced celery at the same time as the onion. (I also use just less than 1/4 t. of cumin, but that's because of personal taste). And with five minutes to go, I add tomatos (2 Roma tomatoes, cored and diced). Adding the celery and the tomato gives it more visual appeal and also a little more texture, but doesn't really change the taste. I think this is such a great base recipe that can be altered to accommodate anyone's personal tastes. I love that the end product looks restaurant-quality, but it doesn't much effort to achieve it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Kansas, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,790) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States