Mexican Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Wow, I thought this was best Mexican Rice ever. I used the Rotel tomato with green chilis and added some extra green chilis to spice it up. This is definitley a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was really good! After reading others reviews, I used Rotel tomatoes (about 1/2 of the can and all the juice). Since I used all the juice from the Rotel, I only used a cup of water. Also, I sauted half of a jalepeno chopped up and 1 tsp. of minced garlic with the onions. As for the seasoning I just used heaping 1/2 tsps of cumin and chili powder. The flavor turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This recipe is delicious! You have to use chicken stock instead of water, as it gives it even more flavor! Other than that, I made it as is. It's really easy too! I DEFINITELY would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
i love this recipe! thought it needed "something"so i usually add a spoonful or two of dried taco seasoning as it cooks. serve it on shredded lettuce and add some beans for my vegetarian diners....its one of out favorites now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I have tried quite a few mexican rice recipes from this site, and this is one is my favorite - my search is over! The amount of spice and tomato was just right. I did just dump in some salsa instead of opening a fresh jar of tomato sauce. Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUMMIES2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Really good. I added 1/2 clove of garlic to the onions and a couple of teaspoons of chopped green chiles to the tomatoes. I also used chicken broth instead of water. i would have used rotel instead, but i was out. also, after the rice completed cooking i added a handful of frozen corn then put the lid back on for a few minutes. the corn heated up and retained it's texture. I served this with a mexican style steak and it was really good. this will become a go-to on fajita nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Excellent! I did make some changes based on other reviews. I used chicken stock instead of water, and added a can of rotel tomato with chilli. So good! ****the juice from rotel is about a 1/2 cup. So only add 1 cup of water or chicken broth******.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Very tasty! I used a can of Rotel and 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth and a couple dashes of hot Mexican Chili powder...will make it when cooking Mexican!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I didn't stick to every letter of the recipe, but I still give this five stars for flavor and versatility. The only real changes I made were to add 3 cloves minced garlic, and swap the water for chicken stock. I doubled the chili and cumin. We devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I made this with my Cinco de Mayo meal and it was great! I used diced tomatoes with chili spices because that's what I had on hand and it worked well. Better than anything you buy in a packet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States