Mexican Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljshrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
My rice came out tasting sweet for some reason. I used brown jasmine rice and followed the recipe exactly, except that I used fresh tomatoes, diced jalapenos and garlic salt. I also used chicken stock instead of water. I made these few changes because many others who posted comments about the recipe also did the same things. Maybe the fresh tomatoes were too sweet. I will add more salt next time, but I'm still not sure what went wrong. Still a good recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This is a very good recipe as written. It tastes almost exactly like the rice a Mexican acquaintance of mine used to make. However, I prefer to use chicken broth instead of water. It adds a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This was KILLER! I used garlic instead of onions, and a whole can of tomatoes. Putting this one in the collection! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aprilglossonsmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Yummy! And super easy! My husband loves rice so I started making this as an addition to taco night. It was a winner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Very tasty. I didn't add the 1 1/2 cups of water because I wanted the rice to stay firm and I didn't have time to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This is good. I used chicken stock instead of water and I think I got better results that way. I used a fresh tomato instead of canned. Needed quite a bit of salt even with using the chicken stock. Thanks so much Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This rice is good, but I made it with 3/4 c chicken broth and 3/4 c water. I had to add another c of water or so, and when I did I threw in a boullion cube. I can't see how this would have any flavor made with water. But it's good--our new side dish for tacos, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tarainga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Really yummy. A great sidedish for your favourite mexican foods, and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was simple and tasty. I used chicken broth instead of water, that's just how I do it. I didn't have canned tomato so I added a spoonful of salsa. This needed a little garlic but it was good overall. Thanks Michelle, this was a good rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States