Mexican Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljshrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
My rice came out tasting sweet for some reason. I used brown jasmine rice and followed the recipe exactly, except that I used fresh tomatoes, diced jalapenos and garlic salt. I also used chicken stock instead of water. I made these few changes because many others who posted comments about the recipe also did the same things. Maybe the fresh tomatoes were too sweet. I will add more salt next time, but I'm still not sure what went wrong. Still a good recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This is a very good recipe as written. It tastes almost exactly like the rice a Mexican acquaintance of mine used to make. However, I prefer to use chicken broth instead of water. It adds a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This was KILLER! I used garlic instead of onions, and a whole can of tomatoes. Putting this one in the collection! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aprilglossonsmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Yummy! And super easy! My husband loves rice so I started making this as an addition to taco night. It was a winner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Very tasty. I didn't add the 1 1/2 cups of water because I wanted the rice to stay firm and I didn't have time to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This is good. I used chicken stock instead of water and I think I got better results that way. I used a fresh tomato instead of canned. Needed quite a bit of salt even with using the chicken stock. Thanks so much Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This rice is good, but I made it with 3/4 c chicken broth and 3/4 c water. I had to add another c of water or so, and when I did I threw in a boullion cube. I can't see how this would have any flavor made with water. But it's good--our new side dish for tacos, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tarainga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Really yummy. A great sidedish for your favourite mexican foods, and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was simple and tasty. I used chicken broth instead of water, that's just how I do it. I didn't have canned tomato so I added a spoonful of salsa. This needed a little garlic but it was good overall. Thanks Michelle, this was a good rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States