Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Excellent recipe! I added in some black beans and omitted the cheese. Served in tortillas like a burrito and they were gobbled up. Make sure you use a HUGE pot as this makes a lot - more than 6 servings for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icesx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This is a great, easy recipe! I too left out the cilantro. I used a can of corn, drained, in lieu of fresh corn. Instead of garlic powder I minced a couple cloves of fresh garlic and sauteed it along with the onions in the beef. We had ours served with tortilla chips. Next time I'd like to substitute some of the meat for black beans. Great taste and so simple! TIP* Make sure to turn the heat down after you cover the pot to cook the rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
I left out a few things from the recipe, given the picky eater I'm feeding and the type I am: bell pepper, salsa, cilantro. However, this is a spectacular dish. I served it on tortillas as a burrito/taco filling and just loved it. We had it for lunch the next day as well. The rice was just a little spicy, but not too much and covered with yummy cheese. For anyone who likes a zesty little mexican dish, this is definitely for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Doraville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
Excellent dish!! I didn't change a thing and my whole family loved it! One of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
Excellent and easy recipe - I didn't alter a thing! My husband enjoyed it so much that he brought extras to work, for the guys to try it out. It is great to find something so easy with a 7-month old keeping me so busy. It was so good that I will even try it out on my most difficult critic, my 12 year-old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEP1974

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iroquois Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This was a great recipe for stuffing burritos. I did make some changes, though. I am allergic to peppers, so omitted the peppers and chilies and I used canned diced tomatoes with onions. I also added a little more rice, as I wanted to make sure it wasn't runny for the tortillas. I would definately make this again...it was hard to stop eating this! Thanks, Pat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Very good,I only had a can of cream style corn so I substituted it for the corn.Was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Great recipe, I left out the chilis and uset canned diced tomatoes instead of salsa because that is what I had. I also added black beans and used instant brown rice wich cut down the cooking time. It was very good, my kids loved it. I made enough for two meals for my family of 5, leftovers were also great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
This turned out even better than I thought my boyfreind liked a lot, he said it had just the right of amount of spices. I made it exactly as the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Perfect. Tasted great, easy to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBERLYNNE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States