Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This recipe rates 5 stars made without any omissions or substitutions. (I find it irritating when recipes are rated after they have been changed to the point that it is no longer the same recipe) This is quick, easy, filling, and has just the right amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Haider

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Great! The only thing that was missing was to turn the burner down to between Medium and Low after you bring it to a boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This is a great, easy recipe! I too left out the cilantro. I used a can of corn, drained, in lieu of fresh corn. Instead of garlic powder I minced a couple cloves of fresh garlic and sauteed it along with the onions in the beef. We had ours served with tortilla chips. Next time I'd like to substitute some of the meat for black beans. Great taste and so simple! TIP* Make sure to turn the heat down after you cover the pot to cook the rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
This is really good. I left the cilantro out of mine because I don't like it, but I did everything else the same. I used as a filling for burritos and added extra cheese, sour cream, salsa, and onions. Really easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
My family thought this was very good. We put it in flour tortillas. I followed everything on the recipe, except I used a can of corn, which did just fine. Will make it again! (When I do, I may use instant rice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
Easy, filling and popular with my two toddlers. I substituted enchilada sauce for the tomato sauce and I served it with tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
My family and I loved it! Even my two year old cleaned her plate! I did, however, add taco seasoning in with the ground beef and nix the green pepper. We served it in flour tortillas and thought it was like Taco Bell burritos - only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIEMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Very good, amendable recipe - I used regular brown rice, just increased the cooking time. I also added 1 can pureed kidney beans to stretch the recipe - gave it a very creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Oh so yummy! Very tasty and filling. Switched up on some of the spices as follows: (i) added fresh cilantro (about 1/4 bunch) instead of minced cilantro {cooked w/ onion & green pepper}, (ii) reduced beef broth to 6 oz., and added 8 oz. pack of Classic Fajita Skillet Sauce w/ Chipotle + Lime {by Chef R. Bayless; available @ Whole Foods}, and (iii) substituted 2 tablespoons “Taco Seasoning” from this site and eliminated chili powder, paprika, garlic powder, & salt from ingredients list (already incorporated in “Taco Seasoning”). Thanks boris for a great concoction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This is my second time making this for my husband. My first time was about 4 months ago and ever since he has been asking me to make this again. I finally got around to it again and LOVES IT!!! He said he can eat this every day. I do add sour cream and taco sauce to it. But other than that I followed the recipe. Excellent dish and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States