Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Wendy Chazarreta
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Great! The only thing different I did was use a big can (25oz)of diced tomatoes in tomato sauce and a big can (8oz)of green chilies. I also added cumin and used instant rice. It was done all together within 30 mins. This should be called Mexican Rice Dinner. Great and we'll be making it all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Chazarreta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Another family favorite from Allrecipes! I do this a little differently after making it a few times though. I've found that the rice does not cook through and tends to be crunchy when following the recipe. So I combine everything and cook according to the recipe, EXCEPT for the rice and cheese. I cook the rice separately and add it to the cooked mixture. I put it in a baking dish and bake for about 20 minutes at about 350. Then we serve it and put the cheese on top of each serving. You can also put the cheese on top of the casserole during the last couple minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is a big hit with my family and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This meal was so good I felt like taking a nap afterwards. Very filling and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Very good! My husband turned his nose up at it at first thinking it was the Texas Hash his mom used to make. He said this was much better. I did make a couple of changes - no green pepper and used a can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh tomatoes. Used canned corn, too. It was a little spicy, but even my two year old liked it - so it's not too spicy. Great served with those thick Mexican tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Great recipe. Can be served as a main dish as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Great! The only thing that was missing was to turn the burner down to between Medium and Low after you bring it to a boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
My husband and I love this dish. We eat it all the time and it's become a favorite. We use it as a burrito filling as oppose to a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cree

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jefferson, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I really LOVED this recipe. Didn't change much, other than I didn't add cilantro because I don't like it, but thats just me. I ate it with shredded cheddar, sour cream and pickled jalapeno slices...OH MY! It makes a lot though....which is great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This recipe rates 5 stars made without any omissions or substitutions. (I find it irritating when recipes are rated after they have been changed to the point that it is no longer the same recipe) This is quick, easy, filling, and has just the right amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Haider

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States