Mexican Pumpkin Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by **Jude**
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This recipe is delicious! Totally loooved the pastry, think you can use it with pineapple, apple or any other filling and will work perfect too. I add cream cheese to the pumpkin mixture cause I didn't have the 4 cups of pumpkin but only 3, so it was a pretty aaawesome risk I took there, creamy and delicious. At the end I had pumpkin filling enough for a whole pumpkin pie. I went all the way lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Jude**

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
The ingredients and measurements for this recipe was perfect! I just used pumpkin made from scratch instead of the can. This was a big hit for our "Friendsgiving" dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I really liked this recipe! I didn't alter it in any way except by mistake. I didn't realize what the beaten egg was used for, got scared and added it the mix. Also I forgot to add any baking soda per other reviews. All in all everything came out splendidly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
My friend and I tried this recipe and loved it. We made a few adjustments to the recipe, however. We did as other reviewers suggested and added a bit of cinnamon to the dough to make it a little spicy. To the filling, we added a bit of enchilada sauce and cheddar cheese to make it a bit heavier and not overly sweet. We only used about half the sugar that the recipe called for as well. After baking, we poured a little more enchilada sauce on top and devoured them. Overall, would definitely make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rickgornek
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
They came out awesome. My wife is Mexican and she said that they were excellent. I am an amature at baking and they came out perfect. Thanks for the Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
very good recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made these with corn flour,because I can not have gluten.Did not change anything else.DELICIOUS! Everyone loved them,and could not believe they were not made with wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This recipe was delicious! i didn't make it with pumpkin though (don't really like it. instead i just put strawberry jelly and they tasted GREAT! they are easy to make and tatse even better then store bought one's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabby Beltran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This is a good recipe. I had to modify the dough recipe to get it to taste like a traditional Mexican Empanada dough. I also added more spices to the pumpkin mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States