Mexican Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This is a great recipe. I did add a bit more hot sauce because my family and I love spicy food. The second time I made this I used frozen shredded potatoes and I have to say that although it was easier they just weren't as good. I definitely recomend putting in the extra time and useing freshly grated potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
These are easy to tailor to kids and adults. I make half plain and have spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Good take on potato pancakes. Somehow, these don't seem as greasy as potato pancakes usually are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
So good! A great twist on comfort food, and a great option as a side for mexican dishes. Used canned diced tomatoes and followed the recipe as written. I love it when a recipe exceeds my expectations as this did! I think next time I'll make pizzas or open face sandwiches with the pancakes by topping with taco meat, cheese, and other taco stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I agree with others regarding the salsa being bland, I would rather use one of my mother's authentic salsa recipes for these potato pancakes otherwise the pancakes came out delicious. (Self note: add more salt next time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These were very yummy! I just served mine with salsa instead of making the tomato puree..it seemed like a lot of work for basically the same result. I also served with sour cream on top. The diced jalapeno gave it a nice kick. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newsox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Made sauce in blender - one can of diced tomatoes with chilis, one onion (quartered), couple spoonfuls of jalapenos (jarred), added to saucepan with oil. Left skin on potatoes, used food processor with the shredding blade, added couple of spoonfuls of jalapenos (jarred) too. Used eggbeaters, and chinese hot sauce (about a tablespoon). The sauce was amazing.. I would put this on everything! Not the healthiest but really tasty way to use up some of my potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Bland and kind of boring, made sure to top with salsa and cheese, but didn't eat the leftovers. Won't make again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
The potato pancakes themselves were absolutely delicious. It was my first time making potato pancakes and they turned out wonderful. I wouldn't change a thing. The tomato sauce is a good base, but needs much more seasoning. I did add some cilantro, garlic, jalapeno and a dash of hot sauce, but it still needed more. Next time, I will probably reduce the oil and add some more spices...but there will definitely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
this dish is great. I like to also add shreded carrots or other root veggies to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States