Mexican Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsruleforever

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
These friend up great and the directions were easy enough to follow. I did squeeze out as much of the liquid as I could after shredding the potatoes. Also this did not have enough heat for me next time I'll just remove the seeds, and leave the ribs in. Quick tip, be sure to keep plenty oil in the bottom of your pan or your cakes will not brown evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I prepared these to add to our tradtional latkes for Hannukkah this year as we were fixing other Mexican foods for dinner this year. I kicked them up a notch by adding chayenne pepper to make them spicier. They turned out exceptionally crispy with just the right mount of heat. My family asked me to fix them again for next year. They can be fixed ahead and frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
The pancakes for this are perfect. I was even able to use frozen shredded potatoes so I wouldn't have to grate my own (I used 1 cup per potato called for). Mine browned perfectly in 3-4 minutes per side on medium heat. I did add a little extra hot sauce to the batter. I was underwhelmed with the tomato sauce for this. I's a little time consuming to reduce the water out of it and then you're left with a relatively bland conconction. You could tweak aroud with it and get it more interesting and flavorful, or you can skip it altgether and use your favorite salsa. I was tempted to give this recipe a 3 because of it, but I decided that the potatoes were worth a good rating. I'll make them again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
this dish is great. I like to also add shreded carrots or other root veggies to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
The potato pancakes themselves were absolutely delicious. It was my first time making potato pancakes and they turned out wonderful. I wouldn't change a thing. The tomato sauce is a good base, but needs much more seasoning. I did add some cilantro, garlic, jalapeno and a dash of hot sauce, but it still needed more. Next time, I will probably reduce the oil and add some more spices...but there will definitely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Bland and kind of boring, made sure to top with salsa and cheese, but didn't eat the leftovers. Won't make again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Made sauce in blender - one can of diced tomatoes with chilis, one onion (quartered), couple spoonfuls of jalapenos (jarred), added to saucepan with oil. Left skin on potatoes, used food processor with the shredding blade, added couple of spoonfuls of jalapenos (jarred) too. Used eggbeaters, and chinese hot sauce (about a tablespoon). The sauce was amazing.. I would put this on everything! Not the healthiest but really tasty way to use up some of my potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These were very yummy! I just served mine with salsa instead of making the tomato puree..it seemed like a lot of work for basically the same result. I also served with sour cream on top. The diced jalapeno gave it a nice kick. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newsox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I agree with others regarding the salsa being bland, I would rather use one of my mother's authentic salsa recipes for these potato pancakes otherwise the pancakes came out delicious. (Self note: add more salt next time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States