Mexican Potato Nachos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
simply amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
We just loved this recipe. I made it when some friends were here and they raved about this. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
My family loved this dinner! It was quick to make and a fun new way to make nachos. I used ground turkey and a packet of chicken taco seasoning. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
We really liked this. It was VERY filling with the beans, and the guac on top. We made with vegetarian meat and never missed the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Really great twist on your usual nachos. I am a vegetarian so I didn't use any beef. Other than that I followed the recipe and found it to be very filling; this could easily be a filling dinner. I definitely recommend trying this one. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This was pretty good. Didn't have black beans, so used refried beans in this. Also cut the potatoes to 1/4" thickness instead of 1/2", as we wanted the potatoes to stretch a little further and be thinner and crispier. Added a little chili powder to the potatoes, too, when baking. Nice flavour and texture to this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...We LOVED these! Made as written, except for adding some garlic powder to the potatoes, along w/ the salt and pepper while they were baking, and flipping them 1/2 way through, so they would brown evenly. They were great as is, but I think next time I will add some green onions and maybe a bit of salsa or taco sauce to the top as well, just for a little something extra. What a fun twist... I will def be making these again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
378 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I made this for Recipe Group and it was a fun recipe to try. I did make some minor changes. With the 8 oz. of ground beef I made my usual taco meat and added 1/2 a can of black beans. I didn’t measure the rest of the ingredients, just used what I thought looked right, adding green onions. I didn’t have guacamole, so I served this with chunky salsa, along with the sour cream. While I thought this was good, halfway through dinner, I found myself eating the toppings with tortilla chips and leaving the potatoes behind on the plate. Who knows? Maybe I was getting full. I have some of the meat/bean mixture leftover that I will use on a taco salad tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This recipe is really, really good! The usual skeptics in my house had second helpings of this (along with a side of "their words")! Everyone in my house thought these were better than traditional nachos with chips! I used regular russet potatoes and I sliced them pretty thin using a mandolin. I only baked them for 15 min. since they were thin. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe, lois!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I made this recipe as part of the recipe weekly group selection. We loved having nachos over potatoes, what a great change from tortilla chips. I sliced my potatoes 1/4 in. thin added some taco seasoning spices to them along with olive oil. We grilled them on a cookie sheet on our gas grill over indirect heat at 425° since we try not to use the oven in the dead of summer. We turned the potatoes after ten minutes and cooked 5 to 10 more minutes. Great meal and so easy to prepare...a new favorite for us. Thanks lois.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States