Mexican Potato Nachos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
My oh my!!!! My son was recently diagnosed with a corn allergy and a gluten sensitivity. So I've been looking for some alternative recipes. He absolutely loves anything to do with tortilla chips. I didn't have quite everything on hand for this recipe. . . so although I tried to stay close to the recipe. . .I added about half a can of canned tomatoes and half a can of diced green chilis, in order to increase the veggie quotient. I also slice the potatoes much thinner but the overall base recipe was a home run. My family has requested that I add this to our dinner rotation. Cudos!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUDREYSMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I LOVED this! I will definitely be making this again. The potatoes just give it a different taste and texture. The only things I changed were using yukon gold potatoes with olive oil, and I did not use oil to brown the meat. I've actually never heard of using oil to brown meat. Seems rather redundant AND costly in terms of calories and fat. Thank you for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I made this for dinner last night and the verdict is in.........my family LOVED it! It was easy to make and it even looked like the picture when it was done. The kids liked it too (ranging in age from 6 to 12)! And in my kitchen, at the end of a "New" meal, if I get the "this is a make-again meal," you know it's a winner....and thats what I got!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
made this last nite, my husband just loved it. changed only one thing black beans for clacks brown beans juice and all.made my own(taco seasoning 1) from this site,it turn out good too.had some hamburger beans left over,i'm going to use it in taco shells,and make tacos tonite. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iraldy
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This dish was delicious. I had made already ground meat two days ago (picadillo) and I put the potatoes in the oven 1/4" thick and glazed them with cooking spray salt and pepper. 5 min on each side when done I spread the ground meat that I had mixed with a can of blk beans. Topped with cheese and very thin onion slices. Lettuce, sour cream, guacamole, and salsa topped with crushed Doritos. My son ate 3 servings. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iraldy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I loved it! I used some leftover spaghetti sauce over the meat and beans and then broiled the cheese on top a bit then put the salad stuff on. It was delicious! Thank you for sharing this recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Very good 'Comfort Food' and easy. Basically like tacos on potatoes but still a good twist. Use LOTS of fresh veggies. You will like it! We used a smoked salsa (available at any grocery store; Jardine's?)and it was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I plan to try this weekend but a suggestion to keep your potatoes from sticking to the cookie sheet. Good old fashioned shortening. I just grab a paper towel, slip on a bit of shortening, rub onto the cookie sheet and potatoes wont stick. It works better than the new line of spary-on non-stick cans that seem to ruin all my pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This recipe sounds AWESOME. I will be making it but will be altering the recipe slightly. We're not huge fans of the refried beans so going to leave them out and I'm allergic to tomatoes so going to replace with Jalapeno peppers and another veggie. Otherwise will be made exactly as the recipe calls for. Any other suggestions to replace the beans would be helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
My guys absolutely LOVE this recipe! I'm hoping to get them to try an Italian Nacho version one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Potato Chips

See how to make thin, crispy homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States