Mexican Potato Nachos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I made this for my family tonight and they really liked it. I did use a whole pound of hamburger and added a taco seasoning mix just like we do for tacos. I then added green onions to the hamburger with the black beans (about 1/4 cup). Served it with sour cream, lettuce, tomatoes, and olives. It was it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Very good. We topped the potatoes with my Mexican chicken mixture instead. I didn't have Veg. oil so I used olive oil and as someone else had mentioned I sprinkled with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Very easy and tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was awesome! I used leftover taco meat and shredded up some chicken breasts . Instead of just black beans, I threw in some leftover southwestern corn too. I think next time I may make it into a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmrsclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
These were very easy to make, and very tasty. Nice change, would be excellent for Monday Nigh football
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
3.5-4 stars ....This is a really good recipe however I did find it to be work intensive even with a mandolin slicer. I followed the recipe as written for my Sunday football crowd (8 adults 4 children) and I thought the potatoes would have had a little more crispness to them (disappointment). I had to cook the potatoes in two batches of 2 full cookie sheets per batch, then the potatoes where hard to get off the pan....this took a lot of time to get them off whole. I think this could be five stars if I could fix these problems and if anyone has already done so please let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milton Roman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Delicious! I should have followed the recipe's advice on the thickness of the potatoes and cut them at .5". Instead I followed the advice of reviewers and cut them thinner. They stuck to the cookie sheet (even though coated nicely in oil) and were too toasty. I used turkey and added a full packet of taco seasoning to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
What a wonderful, versatile recipe! Have enjoyed the recipe made per directions (other than slicing potatoes 1/3" with mandolin for nice thin slices that cook well). I have also made great "nachos" by throwing together bits and pieces of flavorful leftovers (carnitas and chili beans once, leftover texas cavier and avocado slices another, veggie chili was good as well). I like that the potatoes are hearty and filling and make the dish go a long way on a budget. One big baking potato filled my full size baking sheet with 20 nice uniform slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was a good, solid recipe - definitely worth trying. Unfortunately, it's just too much work for nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Very Good--I made it lik a casserole-first doing the potatoes as stated, then layering left over taco meat and a little cheese. Put back in the oven until the meat was heat thru-then served on plates for our kids and the topped like nachos with their favorites--VERY YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Prepared as directed on recipe. Delicious. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Potato Chips

See how to make thin, crispy homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States