Mexican Potato Nachos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
My first time making this and I'm hoping for a nice outcome. ;) I'll most likely try it without the meat. I'm always looking for new recipes to try. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moodyman1978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Looks better than it tastes I'm afraid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Made this for the Super Bowl last night to use up some potatoes we had on hand. This was great! Swapped out olive oil for the vegetable oil to roast the potatoes and cut the potatoes about a 1/4 inch thick to get them crispier. I didn't use oil to brown the ground beef. After layering the cheese, beef/bean mixture, and remaining cheese, we stuck this under the broiler for 2-3 minutes before adding the remaining toppings. Thanks for sharing this creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Skinnied this up by using smaller potatoes, sliced thinner.. Used cooking spray on baking sheet, layered poyatoes, sprayed tops of potatoes, added salt and pepper. Baked as per instructions. Used LF ground turkey, used Birds Eye corn and black bean mix in place of black beans. Used FF yogurt in place of sour cream and omitted guacamole. Considering 4 servings (instead of 8 per recepie), calculated 7 points plus per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Made this tonight for the Super Bowl and everyone (even the kids) liked it. It has been requested for dinner another night soon. I cut the potatoes into 1/4 inch slices as I think 1/2 would be too thick. At 1/4 inch you have to be careful picking them up but they work without falling apart. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This recipe was easy to make and delish. I will most be making it again. Its a good dish for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Oh my! I have to say, the potatoes weren't as crispy as I'd expected, even though I gave them 5 extra minutes and used broil the last few minutes. No matter; they are SO good. Saving this recipe to use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This recipe is AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
My oh my!!!! My son was recently diagnosed with a corn allergy and a gluten sensitivity. So I've been looking for some alternative recipes. He absolutely loves anything to do with tortilla chips. I didn't have quite everything on hand for this recipe. . . so although I tried to stay close to the recipe. . .I added about half a can of canned tomatoes and half a can of diced green chilis, in order to increase the veggie quotient. I also slice the potatoes much thinner but the overall base recipe was a home run. My family has requested that I add this to our dinner rotation. Cudos!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUDREYSMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I LOVED this! I will definitely be making this again. The potatoes just give it a different taste and texture. The only things I changed were using yukon gold potatoes with olive oil, and I did not use oil to brown the meat. I've actually never heard of using oil to brown meat. Seems rather redundant AND costly in terms of calories and fat. Thank you for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Potato Chips

See how to make thin, crispy homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States