Mexican Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I made two minor changes--I did not have fresh diced green chilies on hand but I did have one 4 ounce can of diced mild green chilies that I used instead. I also used half of a small bottle of Frank's Hot Sauce instead of a full bottle. The taco seasoning I used was homemade and I used california ground chili powder, which has the same great flavor but is milder and not as hot. I did not try this myself but my husband and kids had this for dinner and they ate almost the whole goshdarn roast on their own. They all called me at work and told me how delicious it was--even the littlest! They all told me that I must make this again very soon. NOTE: We used the meat in this recipe for soft tacos, with homemade refried beans and mexican rice on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
We don't ever chop the onions or dice the peppers in this recipe but simply thinly slice them. Then when you shred the meat you have the strands of onions and peppers mixed in with it. Served with grilled corn tortillas, a corn salsa and a squeeze of lime and it is a fantastic meal. Also a great meat for modified korean style tacos (think kimchi). If you are cooking for someone who prefers a milder dish choose a milder pepper and don't use the hot sauce or cayenne, my kids love it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I make this dish often with the beef chuck roast or boneless pork spare ribs. Since I like to have a filling for tacos as well as a soup, I add 2 cups of beef or chicken stock to the cooker. I also use a can of Ro*tel diced tomatoes with diced green chilies instead of just the diced chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This sounds great, like a barbacoa or similar to machaca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I love cooking meat in the slow cooker and this looks wonderful except to much hot sauce I would reduce it to half the amount called for.Also meat has gotten so expensive in the last year or two that a four lb.roast is quite an investment and we sold our large freezer so can't freeze a large beef roast but may buy a smaller roast and cook it instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selma, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I made this as close to recipe as I could. I used 2.5# beef roast instead of 4#. The rest was done to directions. Gave the next door neighbor some and he liked it too. For a point of reference, I eat at a taco stand that has a "fire taco sauce" that I do not find too hot, while the neighbor uses the mild sauce at the same stand. All who ate this tasty roast beef did not think it was not too hot. Enjoy. Great leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry L Fraser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Wow. I can't believe no one has commented on the heat (spice) of this recipe. I saw the 1 & 1/4 cup of chilies and the 5 oz of hot sauce and thought, geez, that's got to be hot. Then I looked through the reviews and no one mentions it, so I followed the recipe. By scraping off all of the chilies and not using any of the sauce, it was edible. FYI: we live in south LA and are very use to cayenne and hot sauce but this was HOT! I'd make adjustments before cooking it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Great recipe! I didn't have green chili peepers in the pantry,so I added a chipotle pepper and some cumin.The fam loved it and I will definitely make it for the boys when the hockey playoffs start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayre1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
YUM! This is such a great and EASY recipe. I made it for a family event and have already been asked to make it again for the next one. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used pork instead of beef and instead of taco seasoning (I didn't have any on hand) I used some "Mexican Spice". The heat (and much of the flavor!) depends on which hot sauce you use. The first time I made it I used Franks Red Hot because I had a lot of it, and it was good for a crowd. Last night I made it and used Tapatio with a little bit of Ghost Pepper hot sauce. We love spicy food so that was perfect. This tastes great in a taco (CORN tortilla!) with fresh pico and some lime on it. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I really gave this a single star only because the meat was tender- but all chuck roast cooked in a crock pot is tender. The spicing for this roast had two things wrong with it: first, if prepared exactly the way listed, it is so screaming hot that no one could eat it except my lead-stomached husband, who said he almost couldn't either, and second, there is almost no flavor here except the mild bitterness that comes from this selection of spices and, as said before, the incredible heat! I don't know how anyone could have achieved different results since I followed the recipe meticulously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States