Mexican Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I made this yesterday, served it last night. It was wonderful! I read the reviews first, so I did tweak it a bit according to some of the suggestions. I had a smaller roast, so I cut back on the ingredients. Glad I did, cause it was HOT! I used 2 cans of green chilies and 1/2 bottle of hot sauce. Figured I could always add more if needed, but it definitely did not need any more heat! The meat was so tender. I served it with a side dish of Mexican rice, and the juice was so good on the rice. Thanks for the suggestion to use the meat in soft tacos. I actually have them on hand, and that's what we'll be doing with the leftovers. This dish is definitely company worthy, if you know your company likes Mexican and spicy dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was excellent. I served it as a build your own burrito night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Wow. I can't believe no one has commented on the heat (spice) of this recipe. I saw the 1 & 1/4 cup of chilies and the 5 oz of hot sauce and thought, geez, that's got to be hot. Then I looked through the reviews and no one mentions it, so I followed the recipe. By scraping off all of the chilies and not using any of the sauce, it was edible. FYI: we live in south LA and are very use to cayenne and hot sauce but this was HOT! I'd make adjustments before cooking it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I made this as close to recipe as I could. I used 2.5# beef roast instead of 4#. The rest was done to directions. Gave the next door neighbor some and he liked it too. For a point of reference, I eat at a taco stand that has a "fire taco sauce" that I do not find too hot, while the neighbor uses the mild sauce at the same stand. All who ate this tasty roast beef did not think it was not too hot. Enjoy. Great leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry L Fraser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I have to admit I did not prepare as directed. Made substitutions according to what was in my cupboard but this was absolutely DELISH!!! We used the meat in soft tacos and my boyfriend said it was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I made this last night without changing anything. My husband and I both thought it was fantastic, not too hot in my opinion and full of flavor! I used it in burritos with cilantro lime rice, sour cream and avocados. Yum. It tasted like something I got from the restaurant Chipotle. This is definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I thought this recipe was yummy!! I don't know why the folks who didn't like the recipe didn't feel like it had any flavor because mine came out FULL of taste!! I stabbed the meat with a sharp knife and made sure there was a lot of garlic on top of it so the garlic would drip down in to the meat. Served wih mashed potatoes and covered with the au jaus that was made while cooking. DELICIOUS!!! I'm adding this one to my recipe box! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbellsburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lake Wylie, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Great recipe! I didn't have green chili peepers in the pantry,so I added a chipotle pepper and some cumin.The fam loved it and I will definitely make it for the boys when the hockey playoffs start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayre1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This sounds great, like a barbacoa or similar to machaca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I love cooking meat in the slow cooker and this looks wonderful except to much hot sauce I would reduce it to half the amount called for.Also meat has gotten so expensive in the last year or two that a four lb.roast is quite an investment and we sold our large freezer so can't freeze a large beef roast but may buy a smaller roast and cook it instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selma, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States