Mexican Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
A great spicy roast! We adjusted some of the ingredients since our roast wasn't as large. Tastes great in flour tortillas! We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I really gave this a single star only because the meat was tender- but all chuck roast cooked in a crock pot is tender. The spicing for this roast had two things wrong with it: first, if prepared exactly the way listed, it is so screaming hot that no one could eat it except my lead-stomached husband, who said he almost couldn't either, and second, there is almost no flavor here except the mild bitterness that comes from this selection of spices and, as said before, the incredible heat! I don't know how anyone could have achieved different results since I followed the recipe meticulously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I made this yesterday, served it last night. It was wonderful! I read the reviews first, so I did tweak it a bit according to some of the suggestions. I had a smaller roast, so I cut back on the ingredients. Glad I did, cause it was HOT! I used 2 cans of green chilies and 1/2 bottle of hot sauce. Figured I could always add more if needed, but it definitely did not need any more heat! The meat was so tender. I served it with a side dish of Mexican rice, and the juice was so good on the rice. Thanks for the suggestion to use the meat in soft tacos. I actually have them on hand, and that's what we'll be doing with the leftovers. This dish is definitely company worthy, if you know your company likes Mexican and spicy dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was excellent. I served it as a build your own burrito night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Wow. I can't believe no one has commented on the heat (spice) of this recipe. I saw the 1 & 1/4 cup of chilies and the 5 oz of hot sauce and thought, geez, that's got to be hot. Then I looked through the reviews and no one mentions it, so I followed the recipe. By scraping off all of the chilies and not using any of the sauce, it was edible. FYI: we live in south LA and are very use to cayenne and hot sauce but this was HOT! I'd make adjustments before cooking it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I made this as close to recipe as I could. I used 2.5# beef roast instead of 4#. The rest was done to directions. Gave the next door neighbor some and he liked it too. For a point of reference, I eat at a taco stand that has a "fire taco sauce" that I do not find too hot, while the neighbor uses the mild sauce at the same stand. All who ate this tasty roast beef did not think it was not too hot. Enjoy. Great leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry L Fraser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I have to admit I did not prepare as directed. Made substitutions according to what was in my cupboard but this was absolutely DELISH!!! We used the meat in soft tacos and my boyfriend said it was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I made this last night without changing anything. My husband and I both thought it was fantastic, not too hot in my opinion and full of flavor! I used it in burritos with cilantro lime rice, sour cream and avocados. Yum. It tasted like something I got from the restaurant Chipotle. This is definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I thought this recipe was yummy!! I don't know why the folks who didn't like the recipe didn't feel like it had any flavor because mine came out FULL of taste!! I stabbed the meat with a sharp knife and made sure there was a lot of garlic on top of it so the garlic would drip down in to the meat. Served wih mashed potatoes and covered with the au jaus that was made while cooking. DELICIOUS!!! I'm adding this one to my recipe box! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbellsburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lake Wylie, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Great recipe! I didn't have green chili peepers in the pantry,so I added a chipotle pepper and some cumin.The fam loved it and I will definitely make it for the boys when the hockey playoffs start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayre1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States