Mexican Posole Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I love posole! I use the dried chiles, and added a couple bay leaves also. Top with cilantro, limes, onion, lettuce, and of course hot sauce! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Hubs and I love this recipe! I haven't made it with the chicarones and feet yet though. So good and savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
My first attempt a Posole...I was very pleased by the outcome...being from New Mexico I did add Hatch green chile to it, but here that is like a daily staple. My NM friends thought it was perfect..stick to the recipe and you will be pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for. I used pork neck and pig's feet, added some fresh, diced tomatoes and fresh, hot peppers from the garden. I served it with shredded cabbage, fresh onion, cilantro and lime juice. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
We have revised the ingredient “4 fresh red chile pepper” to "4 dried hot red chile pepper pods, seeded and diced” to accurately reflect the ingredient as listed in the original submission. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
As I native of Albuquerque, New Mexico, I can authenticate this recipe. My mother prepared posole every year for New Year's Day, and her posole was very similar to this recipe. The pork rinds and feet make it authentic, but you can omit these ingredients for ease of preparation. If you have trouble finding red chili, try www.buenofoods.com - a popular New Mexico Chili retailer. My mother made a huge batch of milder posole, but served extra red chili sauce on the side so people could adjust the spicyiness to their taste. You can also slow-cook posole in a large crockpot for 6-8 hours until the porkloin falls apart. Posole is sooo good on a cold winter's day. If you love spicy food, chili or the unique flavor of red chili, you should try this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
YUM! Ive used this recipe several times and each time I think I like it more. Thanks for posting the perfect posole recipe. Its snowing today and will be awesome for dinner tonight. The only thing I change is that I don't use the pigs feet or pork skin... just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Excellent posole! Like the other reviewers, I didn't know what kind of chilies would work so I used what I had -- dried Guajillo peppers. I bought a bag of them at the grocery store and they've worked wonderfully for many recipes. I have used 6 and it worked -- just make sure that you remove the seeds because they stay "crunchy" and HOT in this recipe. Also, try to use "Mexican oregano" if you can find it. I am going to add a small tin of green chilies next time I make this for extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I cooked this for my my fiance and his uncle because their from mexico they thought I was crazy for trying. But they were very impressed with me they loved it so much they ate it breakfast luch and dinner until it was completely gone. This is a very authentic dish. I served it with tortillas, chopped onions, cilantro, and lime wedges. Also I would definetely add the can of tomatoes for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
i also included bay leaves to boil with meat and water. and added my homemade salsa at the end in the bowl and tasted great. thanks for the receipe. it was my 1st time trying it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyford, Texas, USA
Living In: South Holland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States